Cusco Central Market

JS O’Keefe
Upside Down
Published in
Nov 20, 2023

Mercado Central de San Pedro: Negotiating in Spanglish

Pamela Huber on Unsplash

It’s not ‘baby alpaca’, only ‘maybe alpaca’, I tell her.

To even the playing field, I change to Spanish: ‘Setenta y cinco dolares’, $75. It’s nice but mainly wool.

She says ‘ciento diez’, $110.

I tell her that’s more than it would cost me back in the U.S., and the only reason we’re still talking because she has very nice facial features. Anyway, I have to go now.

Senor, she says, I’ll sell it to you for $75 but please-please give me $110.

I fork over the money. She won. She beat me with the please-please.

Originally published at https://www.fridayflashfiction.com.

--

--

JS O’Keefe
Upside Down

JS O’Keefe is a scientist and fiction writer (Every Day Fiction, WENSUM, 101 Words, Spillwords, 50WS, ScribesMICRO, Medium, Paragraph, 6S, Satire, MMM, etc).