“Evolution of a Reader: From Voracious Larva to Discerning Butterfly”

Hiran Dhakal
Upside Down
Published in
3 min readOct 16, 2023
source: pixabay

I have a large portrait of Bill Gates attached to my wall. Yes, I admit that I am a big fan of his, but I would be quick to mention that I don’t admire him for his billions of dollars; rather, I admire him for his reading habit.

He is humble enough to credit all his wealth to the vast knowledge he has accumulated through reading.

The reality of the proverb, “today’s reader is tomorrow’s leader,” is seen in him. The portrait of Bill Gates inspires me to read as much as I can.

In the early phases of my reading journey, I was like a voracious larva, devouring every book I could get my hands on. I took pride in counting the number of books I had finished. I made sure to read every word and felt guilty if I failed to do so.

I learned various techniques related to fast reading: reducing sub- vocalization, running fingers through the lines, reading in chunks, skimming, and scanning, among others. My reading speed was impressive during those days, but I can honestly say I did not truly enjoy reading back then.

However, I continued reading because every book I finished filled me with a sense of pride. If I published a post on social media claiming I completed one book a week for a year, I would be seen as the most learned man. This ego drove me and provided me with all the motivation and energy. But things are different for me now.

I have evolved.

Not all books are meant for me; I learned this lesson the hard way. Now, I have changed my approach.

For me, reading is not a 100m dash to cross the finish line as fast as possible; rather, it’s a stroll in the park — carefree, contented, and relaxed. I try to absorb all the scents, feel the cool wind tingling my skin, listen to the ever-chirping birds, and admire the grandeur of creation and the creator himself. Reading has evolved beyond mere quantities and has become a blissful experience for me.

So, I give myself ample time to find the book of my choice. I am not in a hurry. I read all the reviews from other readers, the summary of the book if possible, and try out some snippets from the book. I make sure the book strikes the perfect chord with me. Once I am done with the book, I read it and re-read it multiple times, plucking out gems from its depth.

When I start to read, I transform the entire reading experience into a dialogue between the author and myself. I do not hesitate to pour down my feelings, whether love or hatred, in the margins of the book. I laugh, cry, become ecstatic, or depressed with every paragraph I go through. I jot down my views, opinions, appreciation, or disagreement with the author. I don’t keep all of this within me. I make a note of them and revisit these emotions in every re-reading expedition.

Thus, I can keep track of my emotional development over time through these annotations in the book.

Finally, I write a review in my own words where I organize all the emotions I went through while deciphering the codes in the text.

Thanks.

--

--