Upside Down

To Emoji, Or Not Emoji

This Is The Question

Jordan W.
Upside Down
Published in
3 min readOct 14, 2023

--

How do you feel about Emojis…

Source: Pixabay

Where does everybody stand on Emojis? Or does it depend on the medium (no pun intended)?

I have to admit, it took me a long time to come around to the idea of replacing select words with tiny pictures that I have to squint to see.

But now that I have… I will never go back.

What I have realized is that Emojis convey so much more emotion than words can do alone. They can also convey less.

When you use them together (responsibly, of course), there’s no limit to the range of emotions you can achieve through this new form of mixed art communication.

Paragraphs with tiny pictures of all things, squished right in the middle of our otherwise colorless sentences. What an age we live in!

Now you might say, words are colorful on their own if you use them right. Now with the addition of Emojis, there is no work left to do for the imagination. The horror!

I see your point, but wow, Grinch alert.

Adding a splash of color to your work from time to time doesn’t mean you can’t still paint with your words. Besides, we use photographs all the time in our writing.

--

--