What on earth do we use LinkedIn for, anyway?

Why do we post our writings at all?

James Presbitero Jr.
Upside Down
3 min readNov 15, 2023

--

Photo by Liza Summer from Pexels

My sister is a recent graduate (an ok person, as far as sisters go), and she asked me for some jobseeking advice.

I told her to go and be active on LinkedIn. That she should follow people and find her community and engage. Maybe even create something there.

She asked why. “Isn’t it enough to just go on there and apply?”

And I thought … well, yeah. Tons of people find jobs and clients without all the posting and audience-buidling thing. Why do some of us bother?

Not to mention, LinkedIn has a reputation for being …. cringy.

(Oh God, I thought, am I becoming a cringy person? But that’s a crisis for later.)

Anyway, I’ve thought about it, and I’ve chosen to list the reasons why writing on LinkedIn (and by extension here, on Medium!) is a thing for me.

Why I Post on LinkedIn (and Medium)

It’s important that the general public sees this, so that it will be recorded for posterity. Something about the commitment principle or somesuch things.

(Definitely not just because it’s a Wednesday night and I have no other plans)

Reason 1: LinkedIn activity increases visibility

While I was a job seeker, I reasoned that the more I do things in public, the more likely it is that a potential employer will see me, see my work, and (maybe) feel a connection.

I was right.

I think… I can’t really be sure, but I’ve got two contracts to show for it. So, most likely?

Giphy

Yes, I’m trying out GIFs on my stories. They’re fun!

Reason 2: LinkedIn is a great place for practicing in public

Even outside of jobseeking, I want to practice my craft in a place that can provide immediate feedback.

Medium is one place. LinkedIn is another. Both platforms are great for writers, especially if you’re just learning your craft.

Plus, I used to be terribly shy.

The thought of posting online used to make me … cringe.

Posting on Linkedin (and Medium) was one way of overcoming my fear of self promotion, getting out of my comfort zone, and engaging with the world.

Giphy

Reason 3: It’s a social media platform

It might have another flavor. But ultimately, LinkedIn is a place where people seek human connection.

I’m there to be human, and to connect with other authentic human beings.

In that spirit, here’s a picture of a cat. I love cats. I will gladly connect with anyone who also loves cats.

Giphy

Final Thoughts

You don’t have to post on LinkedIn. Heaven knows, we don’t have to post here on Medium.

Granted, there are tons of practical benefits to self-promotion and online visibility. I’ve even made a plan for my Medium presence, even if I can’t monetize it through MPP👇🏼

But ultimately I do because I like it.

I post stuff because I find some sort of purpose in it. Because it helps me improve my craft. Because through it, I can interact with people all across the world.

How about you? Why do you post?

But wow, these gifs are massive. Anyone have any idea how to make them smaller?

--

--