Celebrating Individuality at Upside

Danielle Mitchell
Upside Team Blog
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2019

At Upside Business Travel, we’re always looking for those who will add to our culture, instead of simply “fitting in”. As the Office Operations and Events Manager, a large part of my role is to coordinate events and activities that contribute to the lively culture we all enjoy, and I’m always looking for ways to marry my photojournalist background with my day-to-day role. One of the ways I do that is by creating videos that highlight the culture at Upside. In the two years I’ve worked at this company, one of my favorite things to see is my colleagues enjoying themselves and happy to come to work and it only gets better.

The idea behind our latest video was originally centered around diversity and inclusion, yet after discussing that idea in detail, we realized that we wanted to focus on how individuality and proactive efforts for inclusivity continue to shape the amazing culture we have here at Upside. Our main goal is to create an environment where people can be themselves, and feel comfortable and respected being themselves.

Chanel Butler prepares to be interviewed about culture and inclusion at Upside.

I asked eight Upsiders from different teams to describe our company culture, if they feel comfortable bringing their whole selves to work and how, and if they feel like Upside creates an inclusive culture. The answers I received were genuine, holistic and once again showed me how much people really enjoy working at this company. To have my colleagues tell me they feel safe, heard and respected left me feeling proud to be a part of something that makes such a positive impact on the friendly faces I see on a daily basis. I thoroughly enjoy working with these amazing Upsiders who bring innovation, experience, individuality and fun to work with them every day.

Check out how we celebrate individuality at Upside below.

Do you want to be part of a team that celebrates and values diversity? Check out our careers page for open positions!

--

--