My Real Weird Name

Jailany Thiaw
upskill blog
Published in
Sep 7, 2023

This is my resume with my full name… (Yes, this is actually my real name).

It’s long, it’s hard to pronounce, and it doesn’t look American.

In college, I didn’t put my full name on my resume because studies show that “more black-sounding names get fewer callbacks” and I didn’t want to hurt my chances. It was really important to me and my family that I got a good job.

It didn’t feel good though.

I started upskill because I don’t want anyone’s name to hold them back from getting a well-paying, meaningful job.

upskill is a platform for campus recruiters looking to hire people with weird names like me.

Follow upskill to learn more about what we’re building.

#campusrecruiting #diversityandinclusion #weirdnames

--

--