UI Spotlight: Finance and HR Manager, Natasha Falter

Rob Gaudio
Upstate Interactive
3 min readAug 9, 2021

Hey Natasha! Nice to get a chance to sit down with the person who has been keeping the wheels of UI turning the past few months. So tell me- what led you to work at UI?

Hi Rob! My journey to UI is actually pretty cool. For as long as I can remember, I have always enjoyed planning, coordinating, and all aspects of internal operations. That’s what drew me to my degree in Business Administration- a degree with possibilities rather than one set path. My peers ended up in politics, law, hospital administration, finance, and more, so I made many connections across many different industries. After graduation, I worked for an animal shelter (as a passion project), digitizing their application process. After that, I worked for a small law firm on their annual conference, tax applications, and just about everything else. I was interested in the tech industry because I felt like tons of exciting new things were happening. In addition, I was drawn to the culture, which included flexibility and a collaborative environment. That’s when I met Kseniya. I started contracting with Upstate Interactive in January and started full-time on June 1st!

A post-grad whirlwind! Although you’ve been at it for a bit, what are you most excited about in your new role?

The team. We have a brilliant group of people and a good balance between the four partners. I think it all starts with having a good team, and this is a group of people that I can confidently stand behind.

What’s the most interesting project you’ve been able to work on? (As a UI contractor or otherwise)

We have been working on some internal processes between marketing, operations, and finance/HR. I have enjoyed collaborating with other departments to develop solutions for essential tasks like reporting and hiring. It takes a lot of trial and error, but I appreciate the process.

Is there anything that excites you right now about your local tech scene?

Honestly, I have been researching crypto and the blockchain to understand more about the projects we have been working on. New blockchain technologies are exciting, and it’s cool to be employed by a company directly involved in related, innovative projects.

Outside of work, what kinds of things can we find you doing?

I have a fiance, a cat, and two dogs, one big (lab/rottweiler mix) and one small (chihuahua/rat terrier mix). Both are rescues from the Oswego Animal Shelter. I am usually spending time with my pets, friends, and family. We all love the outdoors and traveling. You can find us rollerblading at Onondaga Lake Park, out on the water in Lake Ontario, hiking in the Adirondacks, white water rafting, just about anywhere outside. We are very competitive too. Any type of game, you name it. Pictionary, corn hole, Crash Team Racing, we love to play.

Action junkie! I love it. So with that in mind, if you had a superpower, what would it be?

Teleportation. I want to see the world and be able to get home in the blink of an eye.

All for the action, not the traffic on the ride home. I can respect it!

--

--

Rob Gaudio
Upstate Interactive

Writing about Web3 and Web Dev for Upstate Interactive. I like music, TV, complexity, and the Philadelphia 76ers.