UI Spotlight: Operations Manager Ingrid Johanns

kristen @ upstate interactive
Upstate Interactive
4 min readNov 20, 2019

You follow us on Medium, you’ve read our many blog posts, but how much do you really know about our team? Introducing UI Spotlight, where you’ll get to learn a little more about the great people behind Upstate Interactive, in their own words. Today: Meet our Operations Manager, Ingrid Johanns.

Tell us a little about yourself.

I grew up in the Syracuse area, graduated from CBA. I went on to study computer engineering and philosophy in college. From there, I moved to the Bay Area in California, worked at several different companies, including interactive firms, managing large and complex software development projects.

At one point I was responsible for rolling out new corporate-wide web standards for Chevron corporation as Senior Web Strategist. After about 7–8 years of working in high tech, I spun off and started a real-estate investment company called Affinity Neighborhoods with two other partners. We used strategic investments to improve the quality of life in high-crime neighborhoods.

Since my partners and I were a part of the tech world prior to this new venture, we decided to combine our skills in tech with our challenges of finding good investments. We developed a proprietary software application to help us collect and identify which properties would make the best investments.

We all had a passion for improving the neighborhoods where we were investing, so as part of our overall strategy, our company sponsored several large neighborhood events, including one in which we coordinated dozens of volunteers to help us paint our neighbors’ houses and plant trees and flowers along the streets.

For these unconventional and innovative approaches to improving these neighborhoods, I was awarded a national business award for Best New Company of the Year. Our company was also featured in the LA Times and our story was highlighted on CNN.

While I enjoyed managing this innovative investment company, eventually I went in a new direction and started a family. After my first son was born, I became a full-time stay-at-home mom, and we moved back to the Syracuse area. Now I have three beautiful sons — Ocean, Forest, and Kepler.

After a few years, I deeply missed working outside of the home. Eventually, I decided to pursue this passion/hobby of mine — massage therapy. I went to school for massage and soon after I opened my own massage practice called The French Rose. I focused on oncology massage, trigger point therapy, and myofascial release. I absolutely loved it.

While I truly enjoy the work of massage, I found as my children were getting older I was desiring something else career-wise. A different challenge… something with perhaps more responsibility, more connection with co-workers and teammates, and perhaps something that was less about using my body and more about using my mind and intellect.

What led you to apply to work at UI?

I truly believe that when you figure out what it is you are authentically wanting, the universe conspires to deliver it to you. As I was pondering how I might make this change from massage back to a corporate/tech career of sorts, I happened to run into one of the founders of Upstate Interactive while out on a walk, and we got talking. He mentioned he had started an interactive company, and that it was doing very well and expanding, at which point I asked if they might be hiring and shared more about my background.

What has been your favorite part about working with UI so far?

I am truly enjoying working with the team! Everyone here has been just great — very welcoming and easy to work with, highly intelligent and capable people. I love that most of the software engineers are women, which is unusual for a technology company. I’ve been highly impressed with how well they are managing the business and am very happy to be a part of the team. I also love that I’m in a role where I get to wear several different hats and directly assist the partners in managing the business.

Outside of work, what kinds of things can we find you doing?

You might find me looking for snails, toads, salamanders, snakes, or even just “interesting rocks” in the backyard with my 6-year-old son, Kepler. He is a nature boy and likes to include me in all of his adventures.

Alternatively, you might catch me running, riding bikes, or skateboarding with my son, Forest, who is very athletic and likes to “race” me as often as I’ll agree to.

Or perhaps you’d see me relaxing, out eating Ethiopian (at Habibas!) with my oldest son, Ocean. He loves eating out and trying new foods as much as I do.

So yes, my life pretty much revolves around these three sons of mine when I’m not working. If I’m not doing those things, most likely you’d find me inside doing laundry, napping, or needing to clean the house.

If you had a superpower, what would it be?

Duplication of myself. I constantly feel the need to be in at least two places at one time. If only I could! I’d love to work here with this great team, run my massage practice, go to school for any number of cool subjects, take a nice long vacation, perhaps do a week-long retreat/seminar, and yet also be totally 100% available as a full time stay-at-home mom, baking cookies and going on hikes, and playing board games with my kids.

Interested in working with us? We’re always looking for great people to join our team! Check out our Jobs page for the latest opportunities.

--

--