#FuturesUP STEM 2019

Nana Dekyi
Uptree
Published in
3 min readJul 8, 2019

Dhavinia Chauhan, Loreto College

A Thursday afternoon to never forget! #FuturesUp was held on the 4th of July it was an event that awakened students to influential employers at the Price Waterhouse Cooper’s (PWC) office in the heart of Manchester.

I first heard about the event through my college, this event was targeted to students who were willing to consider a career in STEM. Personally, I find STEM subjects extremely interesting and engaging and my goal would be to pursue a career in Computer Science.

Prior to the event, I was deliberating which path to take after college, whether it should be an academic route or perhaps something else, I strongly believe that wherever I will end up will be the right choice for me. I was able to join Uptree’s community and gain more inspiration for the future. They have helped many students gain knowledge for the world of work.

The event begins…

To stream the channel of success, Sully Ali began his motivational talk about how we can all manifest success. He spoke about his success habits and how successful people have goals but they not only having goals but they act on these goals by writing them down as it “increases your chance of reaching them!”.

He also mentioned how success will lead to knockbacks and it will test you and your mind to see if your goal is truly worth it. As a strong believer of having a growth mindset, it was captivating to hear Sully Ali talk about these things and remind us all that success begins with having good habits.

After the inspiring talk, the event moved on to the panel discussion, which consisted of many companies such as IBM, Network Rail, Arm, JP Morgan, KPMG and CGI. All the companies gave a real insight to the world of work and this was not the typical ‘day in the office’ vibe, it was completely the opposite!

We were then given a chance to ‘network’ with all the companies by getting to know them in the speed networking session and by going up to their stalls. By making use of the opportunity given, speaking directly to the companies was a great way to show where our interests lay and what our next steps should be.

Plan of action…

After attending such a wonderful event, I have gained more networks and I have been able to share my passion for STEM. I am very grateful to have been able to attend this event and I look forward to what Uptree has to offer. I would like to thank Uptree for hosting this event and giving us this chance to step forward. By speaking to professionals within my sector of interest I am more confident to express myself in the working world.

I really encourage more people to sign up and put themselves out of their comfort zone. By gaining valuable experiences and sharing your interests is just a starting point for what the future holds. Aim high, dream big and believe in yourselves because anything is possible with a positive mindset!

--

--