#MeetTheTeamMonday: Meet Kelly N.

Andrea Ng
Uptree
Published in
3 min readSep 30, 2019

World Teacher Day - October 5th

Kelly Norrington, Content Manager.

I became a teacher quite by chance. I left Edinburgh University with a good degree, expecting to get a job because I had a piece of paper saying I was worth something.

Unfortunately, due to a lack of actual work place experiences and professional networks, I ended up working in a bar (if only Uptree had been around for me back then!).

Deciding that life must consist of more than pulling pints for tourists in St Andrew’s Square, I paid off my student overdraft, packed a travel bag and went adventuring. For 5 years.

Somewhere along the way, in Thailand, I saw a job advert to be an English teacher in South Korea, with rather good pay. I applied, not knowing where Korea even was on a map. Remarkably, I got hired by the local education board so off I flew to the remote island of Jindo, south of the mainland.

Within a few weeks, I realised that I had a natural flair for connecting with children. It quickly became apparent to me that The Teacher Stare works globally on young people (and sometimes adults) regardless of any language barrier.

I’m the one in the top left — I realise I look like just another Korean boy in this picture.

I returned to England two years later and completed a PGCE at Durham, taking my first teaching job as Acting Head of Department in a small country school in Derbyshire. In total, I have taught in 6 secondary schools in 3 countries.

Regardless of students’ language, culture, gender, religion or ability, what made my teaching career so rewarding were the relationships that I built with the young people I encountered. Many of these relationships were hard-won with strong-willed kids who fought against me week after week until they finally realised I wasn’t going to let them get away with anything but their best.

Some of my most treasured possessions are the leaving books I received when cohorts moved on and wrote me thank you letters. I’m sure that I will fade into obscurity for most of the students I taught but I do hope that, for a few at least, I will be that ‘favourite’ teacher we all have memories of from school.

So, from one teacher to another, I salute you all and your determination to bring out the best in young people across the world.

--

--