One of our many success stories!

Amina Diriye
Uptree
Published in
3 min readFeb 28, 2019

Hear about how Teyah Davis has successfully secured an offer by KPMG, one of our partner companies! Uptree supported Teyah in a number of ways: through various work experience and insight days, our application masterclass, her ambassador role and also through our Partner Breakfast where she was able to converse with professionals from different companies.

In her own words…

Hindsight is 20/20 vision, and looking back from near the end of Year 13, there are so many things I would change about my last two years, but meeting Uptree was probably one of the best things that’s happened to me.

My amazing careers advisor introduced the organisation to my peers and I, as part of an initiative to widen our opportunities and possible pathways into our future careers. My first experience with Uptree was their 2017 #FuturesUP event, and since, I’ve attended more than 15 of their work experience days, insight days and many more.

In terms of opportunities, Uptree provided me with the chance to meet and network with a vast range of professionals, many of whom have generously offered their time or assistance with many requests, such as help tailoring my CV or providing tips on how to prepare for an interview. Uptree taught me the importance of networking, and also completely changed my plans from wanting to study Computer Science at university to applying to a range of Digital Technology & Solutions Degree Apprenticeships with a number of global companies. This has definitely been the best choice I ever made, and I’m so grateful to Uptree for introducing alternative post-18 pathways to me.

Thanks to their help and support with events such as an Application Masterclass and company insight days, I’ve been able to progress through a variety of recruitment processes, and will be starting my job as an apprentice after I complete my A Levels.

In the future, once I’ve finished my Degree Apprenticeship and I am working in a role I love, I see myself also working with Uptree, ensuring that more and more students have the opportunities I’ve been given, chances to visit company sites, meet professionals and learn how to develop their transferable and soft skills. I want to make sure that more students will be able to see the benefits of apprenticeships, networking and extracurricular activities, and reduce the stigma that unfortunately still surrounds routes into careers other than the traditional university pathway.

Uptree has played a significant role in the last two years of my life, and changed its course for the better, and I am so appreciative of the organisation and all that it does, and special thanks to Tamsin who has supported me at every step of the way.

Teyah Davis at an IBM event
Teyah Davis!

--

--