Baby notes as memories

Tanya Mulkidzhanova
Urban Girl Notes
Published in
1 min readMay 13, 2018

I’m happy I write down things about my daughter, for myself — maybe for her dad and for her someday. These baby and toddler things change so fast, you can’t remember everything, or most things. They fade away, as you’re moving with your child into another moment, and then another, and another. Pictures, voice memos, notes. I’m taking fewer pictures, but I try to write down things that excite me about her.

When I was pregnant, I was taking notes every week. I lived in my pregnancy, it’s been the most physiological time in my life. And the moment the baby was born, it evaporated. The very next day, it all became irrelevant. A new era began. Similarly, what happened when she was eight months old is hard to remember when she’s eighteen (months, what happens with years?)

Taking notes, capturing the moments in words, is beautiful.

--

--

Tanya Mulkidzhanova
Urban Girl Notes

Product Manager. Made in Ukraine, living in Berlin, raising a daughter.