Matcha bowl

Tanya Mulkidzhanova
Urban Girl Notes
Published in
2 min readMay 4, 2018
Photo by Brent on Flickr

A new matcha bowl came in the delivery today. I’ve been a matcha fan for years, and I only had one bowl. Matcha is usually drunk from a special cup, they can be pretty big or smaller. I used to have a smaller one, rather cheap — I bought it via eBay from some Japanese Store, a long long time ago. It wasn’t anything special. But I never bothered to replace it. It was enough, it was fine.

A few days ago, it died in a toddler accident. (These happen all the time, naturally.) So I had to replace it. I thought about getting myself a really nice new bowl: since I’m now a bigger connoisseur, don’t I deserve the best? But the toddler?.. but my self-appreciation?.. Ah, the questions, the ego… I decided on a quite generic matcha bowl, bigger, nothing too fancy, just one of the few that I liked. Not the “handmade original best elite”, nothing like that. I thought about its value for me over time. I want it to grow, not decrease. Tthe more I drink from it, the more I’ll value it, in the same way as its predecessor’s value grew. Sometimes we let the things we own shape us, but it’s us who in reality can shape the things.

--

--

Tanya Mulkidzhanova
Urban Girl Notes

Product Manager. Made in Ukraine, living in Berlin, raising a daughter.