The road not taken

Tanya Mulkidzhanova
Urban Girl Notes
Published in
1 min readMay 8, 2018
Photo by Vincent van Zalinge

I took my daughter to Berlin Zoo today. It’s huge, to a point when, after going there for a year, I still find animals I haven’t yet seen, and discover new places. For example, today we’ve seen deer. Probably it only happened because the carnivores’ pavilion is closed for a while, and the deer are on the other side of that same alley. I just never went, hurrying to see the lions.

It’s a good metaphor of life. You can live in a city your whole life and still miss some fascinating places or experiences. You can devote years to a professional filed, solve the same problems with similar decisions, and not be aware of the alternatives. We just take the familiar routes. Of course, at the zoo, if I had a goal of seeing every single animal, I would have found the deer much sooner. Yet, it’s still strange how blind I can become to something outside my immediate interest.

Keeping your eyes open, taking another point of view makes your life rich.

--

--

Tanya Mulkidzhanova
Urban Girl Notes

Product Manager. Made in Ukraine, living in Berlin, raising a daughter.