How a high school architecture course propelled my interest in an urban planning career

Audy Noor
Urban Minds
Published in
6 min readJul 10, 2024

In grade 9, I became fascinated with the design of buildings, particularly in how it’s a unique art of construction with a fine balance between functionality and aesthetics. Although this interest has evolved throughout my high school years — eventually leading me to discover urban planning and inspiring me to pursue a career in that field — I never forgot about my original fascination with architectural design. If anything, that interest only grew as I admired and critiqued the built environment around me as an aspiring urban planner.

Left image: The Gazzano House located in London, U.K. | Right image: A snapshot of my three-point perspective drawing in progress.

Maybe it’s for this reason that I decided to take TDA3M1, the grade 11 technological design architecture course at my high school. In fact, I liked it so much that I decided to continue it, adding the senior level architecture course, TDA4M1, to my grade 12 timetable. It was then when my passion for city-building as a whole reached an entirely new level.

The grade 11 architecture course introduced/taught students the basics: orthographic and two-point perspective drawings, digital floor plans and computer model making of a one-storey residential house, and the importance of sustainable architecture practices and making buildings more accessible.

The grade 12 architecture course, on the other hand, took things a step further: a three-point perspective drawing of the modernist Gazzano House building, hand drawn and digital floor plans of a four-storey cohousing apartment, computer modelling and physical model making of a two-storey residential house, and continuing to integrate sustainability and accessibility features in our architectural designs.

The grade 12 students had two major design projects in which we had to ideate and design our own four-storey cohousing apartment and two-storey modernist house. For both, the design process starts with creating conceptual sketches to brainstorm ideas on what the building could look like. In addition to freehand and orthographic sketches, grade 12 students were expected to further diversify the conveying of our ideas. This usually consisted of drawing bubble and block diagrams to better visualize a floor plan layout for our building, as well as the size and location of every room.

Freehand sketches of my two-storey residential house.
Bubble and block diagrams of my two-storey residential house.

This initial phase of the design process always strikes a sentimental chord in me because it reminds me of how I’d occasionally pass time by making sketches of nature trails, rooftop gardens, and various kinds of public communal spaces on scrap pieces of paper. It’s one of the ways that I express and foster my interest for city-building as I excitedly watch vivid architectural designs that originate from my own imagination take shape on paper.

For the cohousing apartment project, the grade 12 students were also instructed to draft a specification for our building, detailing information about the form, function, and key features of our building and how they would address the needs of our selected user. My apartment design was tailored towards university students, particularly those who seek to live comfortably in a building that boasts environmental and social benefits. This greatly influenced the amenities that I decided to add to my apartment design, such as a wide range of shared study spaces, several outdoor gardens, and other large communal spaces in which the residents can gather and host events.

Once the digital version of our floor plans were created, we could scale up our model from there — thus beginning the computer modelling process. Personally, this is the most exciting part of the project because the computer model allows for optimum visualization as to how the building that I designed would look in the real world. Seeing it come to life on the screen is truly a rewarding experience. All the while, us students gain skills in computer modelling, learning how to use the different tools in a platform like SketchUp for Schools to efficiently create our buildings in just two weeks. Interior design skills also come into play here, as this is when we get to experiment with a wide range of colours and materials that allow us to better determine the best design combination(s) for our models.

Perspective shots of my cohousing apartment computer model.

Personally, it was so exciting to see the final product of a month’s worth of hard work. For the cohousing apartment project in particular, I found the entire project to be fulfilling, especially when I addressed the needs of my user (ie. university students) and designed something tailored to their needs and lifestyle. Although it’s a hypothetical scenario, it felt rewarding to contribute to the physical development of a community. Furthermore, I felt a great sense of accomplishment by knowing that the building that I designed could positively impact the lives of everyday people from both an environmental and social standpoint.

Similarly, it was exciting to make a physical model of my two-storey modernist house. Seeing my design develop from unorganized sketches on a scrap piece of paper to a tangible replica of that very design — albeit a more refined and polished version of it — in just a matter of weeks was deeply rewarding.

In fact, the activity of building the physical model reminds me of the hands-on design jam activity that 1UP hosts during the 1UP Leaders Lab event and the 1UP Conference. I always find that during 1UP events, it is this that the youth look forward to doing. Not only is it extremely engaging, but it also allows the youth to solidify their design-build solution and see the fruition of their work in a tangible form.

High school students creating their design-build models during the 1UP Conference 2024.

Upon reflection, I realized that giving youth the chance and opportunity to do these kinds of hands-on activities in relation to architectural design is a great way to introduce youth to the interdisciplinary world of city-building and to empower them to make a difference. Not only that, but it also endows youth with design-build skills and can even raise awareness about important justice-related topics like environmental sustainability and accessibility. Best of all, the youth are left with that amazing feeling of pride for creating something that helps their community thrive.

The TDA4M1 grade 12 architecture course helped me hone in on my creative and problem solving skills, understand and apply different techniques to better communicate and convey my designs and ideas, and allowed me to get a head start in my professional development as I work towards my dream career of becoming an urban planner.

So whether it be hands-on model making activities, creating a mass collection of conceptual sketches for a two-storey residential house, or developing a computer model of a cohousing apartment building, there are so many interactive ways to provide youth with experiential learning opportunities in relation to the city-building sector.

My experience with TDA4M1 is just one out of the many ways that youth can be equipped early on with relevant tools, skills, and experiences that will benefit them in the professional world of city-building. Just imagine the impact this would have if related opportunities were more widely available and provided to youth.

Check out the Urban Minds website to discover how we’re doing just that.

Audy Noor is a Communications Coordinator at Urban Minds

--

--

Audy Noor
Urban Minds

Communications Coordinator @ Urban Minds | Urban and Regional Planning student @ TMU