GOSH! We are still here?

Nai Sandura
urbanline
Published in
4 min readSep 12, 2017

Ever looked at your life and wondered, why the heck you are still here? Doing the same thing you were supposed to have grown out of?

Now I am not the kind of person who is about rushing things, but sometimes I feel like I have been at a place in life for far too long. I feel like I am not evolving fast enough like I should and it sucks.

More than I would like to admit, I sit and ask my self why am I still doing this? I was making stupid blogs like this two years ago, and still?

I usually do this when I am a little bit frustrated (fyi: which happens a lot!).

But I have realized its not only when I am shaken, actually thinking about it shakes me worse. I know I believe in slow progress, the kind of moving forward that allows you to improve your skills before you move onto the next stage.

TBH its not a bad thing. I have actually realized I write better than I used to, I also understand the business aspect of my work field better than I used too and most importantly I have learned that a crush is possible. If you move too fast without cementing your work, you could risk it all.

Which scares me, because I know there is still a lot I am yet to learn, but learning is not a one day thing and its best done progressively.

When I started my journey into the entrepreneurial world a few years back, I was what you would call radical. I did not care about strategy at all. I viewed strategy as something that was going to slow me down, I improvised.

Well if you have run any kind of business you would know that improvisation is not always the best strategy. Sooner or later you will meet what you are running from. As for me I realized I was slowing down more. I lost money, sometimes I had to restart because I missed something, I did sloppy work which led to some clients refusing to pay.

If I had tried a better strategy I could have done it better. But life is all about learning and I am glad I have learn’t something!

However, I have also realized part of this slow strategy is not because of good intentions. Part of it is because of things I could improve, part of it is because:

I procrastinate; Which human doesn't? I have kept a book of things I could do right now, but I haven’t, because procrastination is real! I am not ready for that right now! Um, that’s not necessary yet! Yeah, you probably have done it too. No? Okay!

I am scared; Some steps in life actually scare me. I know nothing really bad is going to happen, in fact the fear is not because something bad might happen, its usually what if I get it? Silly right? What if they actually like my idea.

The mind can be a good thing and a bad thing at the same time! These moments when I over think and scare my self out of silly things is one of them.

I get too excited and too caught up; when I do this I loose;

Focus; My head is always coming up with fresh ideas, some good, some silly, but the point is I get excited of the new idea and quickly move away from what I was working on.

I actually have to fight the urge and most of the time its the result of half baked cookies as I move onto the cake.

Rationale; The excitement definitely impedes the rational process that is supposed to help out any person living on this earth.

At the end of the day I am just human, I try to improve where I can, but what’s most important to me is staying positive. No work can get done and we are definitely going nowhere if we stay negative.

Sometimes you will see progress when you continue to improve your strength. But that’s not enough, you will also need to take into account your weaknesses.

Even when I ask, why I am still hear? I am missing something, because the truth is I am not where I used to be, chances are you are not either. And that my dear friend is progress!

“I don’t know where I’m going, but I’m on my way.” — Carl Sandburg

--

--