All roads lead to urban policy

Stephanie Bertolo
Urban Policy at Munk (2021)
3 min readMar 9, 2021
Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

As we come to the end of this course, I have been reflecting on one of Gabe’s favourite sayings “(Almost) Everything is related to urban policy.”

*Almost.

I came into this course and the Master of Public Policy Program passionate about cities, and that has only grown. This course gave me a deeper understanding of how urban policy issues are some of the important issues our society is grappling with today: climate change, transportation, housing affordability, economic development, fairer democracies, among so many others can only be effectively addressed with some consideration of cities.

From the alumni of our program, I was able to see how a career in municipal government allows people to work towards finding the solutions to these challenges in a fast-paced and dynamic environment. Throughout the pandemic, public servants in all levels of government have taken up tasks they may have never imagined to help this country and cities deal with an unprecedented global pandemic. Their ability to adapt and apply their policy skills wherever they go is what I hope to take away from this course and this program.

Through this course, I also discovered new interests. I have become fascinated with municipal property taxes, which is something I am sure very few people say. Readings in this course and my research for the Shift identified the large role taxes can play in how cities function and how they propagate inequality between homeowners and renters. Municipalities are also under immense pressure to be service delivery providers for some of our society’s most pressing needs, such as childcare, public health, aging infrastructure, and social services. And yet, until this pandemic resulted in massive amounts of provincial and federal emergency funding, they have been receiving a decreasing amount of supports. Their limited taxation powers result in higher property taxes and discontent citizens who are seeing very little improvements in services. As I leave this course, I remain fascinated with how this issue will progress and how Canadian cities will respond.

Working with the Shift was such an incredible opportunity. As someone interested in law, I am fascinated by how municipalities are also obligated to follow international laws, such as the right to adequate housing, yet I doubt that this is something municipal leaders often think about. Considering the international law perspective will likely identify a whole new set of challenges municipalities need to face. However, it also gives them the power to approach other levels of government for more support so that Canada can fulfil these international obligations. Through our final project, my classmates are I began to identify some discriminatory housing policies and possible solutions for municipalities across Canada. I am proud that our work will help in the fight for the right to housing and empower municipalities to implement more inclusive policies.

While it is sad to see this course come to an end, my learning is far from over. I am excited to take my new perspective on urban policy and municipal governance to apply to whatever comes next as I graduate from this program. No matter where I end up, I know all roads lead to urban policy.

--

--