Final Thoughts

Anandu Nair
Urban Policy at Munk (2021)
2 min readMar 8, 2021

As we wrap up our final project for the Shift group, I can’t help but feel proud of my group and how much we have accomplished in such a short window. The group really came together at the presentation date asking some really thought provoking questions questions, answering their concerns to the best of our ability and raising our ideas for feedback. Housing is such a complex topic but looking back at the project, I think my group has done an excellent job picking a few key issues and drilling down a policy framework that adheres to human rights goals.

I like that this project, unlike so many others, gave us the opportunity to get a taste of the real world, where deadlines are fast and clients are expecting high quality products. It also was beneficial for us to refine the problem statements with the clients and get a chance to dive deeper to find out what they actually want. Maybe we’re a really solid team, but at one point it seemed that the client wanted to address everything, which tells me that we came to them with some great ideas. However, we did only have 3 three weeks, so I guess you can’t solve everything. Nonetheless, I loved working with a real professional client and working in the realm of ambiguity, which is often what the workforce is like.

I am excited to wrap up our report and present our findings. Grateful as always to take such cool courses and tackle real policy problems. It’s funny, because when the course first started I didn’t know much about urban policies or housing, but after this project, I feel knowledgeable enough to talk about the challenges to housing up north. Thank you.

--

--

Anandu Nair
Urban Policy at Munk (2021)

Master of Public Policy Candidate 2021, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy.