Personal Reflection inspired by United Way

Photo was taken during a United Way Period Promise 2019 event

Growing up in the suburbs of Hamilton and Burlington, many considered me an at-risk youth. Looking back now, I can understand why, as a visible minority and newcomer, I was raised by a single mother of two in a low-income household. I had less privilege and fewer opportunities than my peers in the classroom, and statistically, I was at greater risk of not graduating high school, finding a good job, and getting involved with the “wrong” crowd. Fortunately, my family benefited from the services of a United Way supported agency called Big Brother Big Sisters. Suddenly, I had access to mentorship and scholarship opportunities that opened doors for my family and me that we otherwise would not have been able to open. As a result, I graduated high school with a $40,000 scholarship to attend any university I wanted. With the help of mentorship, I realized my passion for community service and giving back. It wasn’t long before I became a volunteer and impact speaker for United Way Halton & Hamilton. I became chair of their GenNext committee and had the privilege of serving on their campaign cabinet for two years before becoming a board of director last year.

Given my unique perspective and experience, I have seen first-hand how non-profits like United Way shape urban policy and their impact on thousands of individuals and families across communities. As the second-largest founder of social services next to government, many community service agencies depend on United Way funding to operate. There is a high return on investment when we consider their work, and I am an example of that. Had it not been for the helping hand my family received when we needed it most, I would probably not be in the position I am now.

Through my work at United Way Halton & Hamilton, I have noted that businesses also play an important role in helping to determine just how much an impact United Way can have on the community. Through workplace campaigns, fundraising, and the contribution of goods and services, businesses big and small help raise most of United Way’s funding before it goes out to service agencies that depend on it.

In an ideal world, agencies like United Way would not need to exist. But they do because there is a need in the community to address social issues like poverty, homelessness, mental health, youth services, and more. Unfortunately, there are gaps in service delivery between government priorities and the services they offers. Non-profits like United Way are there to help fill those gaps. As we consider how urban policy can address some of the most urgent social issues and gaps in service delivery, businesses and non-profits must be part of the solution.

--

--