Why do (most) people want to live in cities?

Nancy Ji
Urban Policy at Munk (Winter 2022)
2 min readJan 17, 2022

I’ve always wanted to be a “big city girl”, and I moved from the suburbs of BC to Toronto because I identify cities to be metropolitan, futuristic, and advanced places that are the economic hubs and land of opportunity.

When I think of cities, I think of booming businesses, skyscrapers, and expensive real-estate. Having lived in downtown Toronto for almost seven years, my perception of cities is shaped by what it’s like to live in the downtown core of a city. Where it’s easier to take public transit than it is to drive, and where food delivery is always available from the plethora of restaurants nearby. Mobility and accessibility to everything I need are what I would characterize as pillars of big cities.

I’ve always envisioned my life to be absorbed into the hustle and bustle of city living. But I also have friends who dream of living on a farm, away from crowded subways and police sirens. Maybe when I am older and my lungs can’t take the polluted air or my ears can’t stand the sounds of traffic. But while I am still relatively young, I would rather stay surrounded by the lively neighbourhoods that cities foster. Toronto for example, has multiple historical neighbourhoods such as Little Italy, Greek Town situated on the Danforth, Chinatown, and Little Portugal that give the city character and life, creating a melting pot of cultures and cuisines that showcase the diversity of the city.

Oliver Moore’s article from the Globe and Mail makes an interesting case of the branding of cities. Although the UN classifies cities based on population and density thresholds, the cities that don’t make the UN’s list still have motivations to call themselves cities despite global standards.

Choosing whether to be presented as a city has significant impacts and implications, in ways I’ve never really thought about. Why would a city want to be called a city, rather than a town, even if its characteristics more so resemble a town? The branding and reputation of cities attract diverse people, businesses, and tourists, bringing with them economic activity which would then lead to growth and prosperity. While historically the economic standing of a place was determined by its geography or proximity to resources, prosperity and economic health is now more and more tied to the reputation and quality of a city which determines the flow of talent and capital.

Toronto’s Chinatown (Source: Dailyhive)

--

--