Wrapping Up

Sarah Cola
Urban Policy at Munk (Winter 2022)
3 min readFeb 24, 2022

As I’m reflecting on the last 6 weeks, I’m realizing how much I’ve learned in such a short period of time.

At the start of the course I felt like an urban policy amateur, having only taken one course in my undergrad, which I vaguely remember.

Now, I’m thrilled to say I’m at the intermediate level when it comes to urban policy. I am by no means an expert, but I am certainly better off having taken this course than I would have been without.

Originally, I felt like the MPP program really pushed students to think *big*, leading me to believe that making a difference happens place at the provincial and federal levels. However, I am thoroughly pleased with how far from the truth that is. In fact, urban policy intersects amongst all levels of governments. What I like most about it is that theres something for everyone; urban policy impacts everyone. From garbage removal and snow cleaning to infrastructure investments and highway expansion projects, urban policy spans all over a community, province and country.

As I’m wrapping up, my main takeaway is that urban policy is everywhere. It’s hard to define because it is multifaceted, unique like the communities it impacts, and increasingly important as society evolves. It can be researched and analyzed within or outside of government, and has direct impacts on the small and big things throughout daily life.

Urban policy also involves a high degree of cohesion. Regional governments, for example, deal with unique local governments. Municipalities are tiered; where local municipalities, like the Town of Caledon, are the lower tier and the Region of Peel is the upper tier. On the contrary, the city of Toronto is a single-tier municipality.

When one local government does not align with its counterparts, how can solutions be formed that are equitable, inclusive, and for the greater good? Add in the provincial and federal governments into the mix, and you’ve got a policy cocktail needing a shake not a stir!

Further to this, theres also Agencies, Boards, and Commissions that influence urban policy. These consist of specialized organizations that focus on specific issues, like the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority, for example.

Additionally, civil society and industries have a stake in urban policy, too. Forming policy recommendations to government based on extensive research and analysis is the gold standard for any public policy development. Providing their expertise, using their resources to advance social goals, and creating a space for policy to be developed in an informed environment is something that deeply intrigues me.

However, my final thoughts are that most urban policy issues require innovative solutions. These solutions can oftentimes be hindered by the level of restriction and constraints that these lower levels of governments encounter on a daily basis.

Despite these conditions, urban policy professionals persevere to create a policy landscape that seeks to meet a variety of needs, for a variety of communities and individuals. This inspires me.

--

--