What is Architecture?

Nompilo Okyere-Dede
Urbn Blu
Published in
1 min readAug 31, 2020

So I recently tried to apply for an upgrade with SACAP and this was the response I received:

Unfortunately we cannot accept your qualification for the purpose of upgrading you, as its discipline is not on architecture but rather on urban design.

Which lead me to this question🤔…

What is architecture?

I think part of the problem here is that architecture is viewed in a one-dimensional manner. Why would the faculties of universities offer interdisciplinary studies that are not recognised by industry bodies? There is something that just doesn’t add up here.

I particularly like this definition of what architecture is.

Architecture is the built realisation of a particular concept, or idea. This idea can be about construction, or the way people will use a building, or how the building fits into a physical, or a social, landscape.

What is your definition of what architecture is?

--

--