An Ode To Gratitude

Zala Bricelj
URLA Talks
Published in
4 min readAug 11, 2016

This is not a “HOW TO” nor a “GUIDE TO”.

It’s a genuine heartfelt message I wanted to share.

The title was inpired by Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony Nr. 9 (“Ode To Joy”)

I’ve pondered about this short piece for quite a long time. Not because I wouldn’t have a story to tell, but probably because I needed to gather my thoughts and feelings I wanted to share, out loud, with the world. Like the children I mentor usually say to me — “When you post something on the net, it’s there for the entire world to see, right?” In this light, I wanted to make this piece special, perfect even, because it was inspired by many wonderful people I’ve crossed paths with and by a very special person whose journey made me feel grateful and purposeful in what I do and create every single day.

When your world is falling apart, you need a friend

At the beginning of my teaching/mentoring career I was filled with high hopes and big dreams. Of creating an impact, making a difference and giving all of myself into what I thought was my “calling”, my vocation. Looking back at it now, I usually smile and feel grateful for the path behind me and the roads that are taking me forward. My first client needed help with learning & mastering English language in order to pass the exams, finish high school and start college. This was what we both thought, though looking back at our 10 years of collaboration that turned into a friendship, camaraderie even, it was much greater than this, beyond the sheer expertise and work. While finding out creative and innovative ways of learning and memorizing words, grammar and all the exceptions English language has, she also needed the “human” side of me, the heart to heart connection that helped her find her motivation, strengths and self-confidence to conquer not the world, but her life in general. She was a hard-working young lady, very smart and industrious, but had quite a hard time succeeding and blossoming in the school system that values conformity, staying inside the lines and framework that exists. She needed a friend. Someone who quietly knew that life moves in mysterious ways and that we all need time, space and support to find ourselves, our voice, our story, our future, no matter what others think, say or do. We need to take on life by the horns, or what do they say?

Step by step…and we’ll get there, won’t we?

It was everything else but easy. It’s hard to motivate and stay cheerful when all that matters are just grades and when your teachers don’t notice the effort you’re putting in. Heck, it can be hard on any of us at some point in life, talk about a young person that is torn between authority, approval and fear of failure. When words of disapproval have no other intention but to enforce the status of “I’m the teacher boss here”, we needed to get very creative. Step by step, exam by exam, fail, succeed, fail, succeed, we were pushing forward. If we were anything, we definitely weren’t quitters. Every good grade was a step further, a small victory, a celebration. Our mutual collaboration and mentorship was successful. She finished high school, graduated college, found her first job. But more importantly, she grew up and blossomed into a savvy, courageous young woman that now only has a few traits of a scared, nervous, quiet girl I met on our first meeting.

Wait, so how does this relate to gratitude?

Years pass quickly. A year ago my first client, now my friend, was offered a job abroad. It was big leap forward and the decision before her was not easy. She decided to take it which meant leaving her current life and connections behind for a while to start a new path. I remember the day when she asked me for a favour, she said “Could you please translate my letter of recommendation that my employer prepared for me? I’d need Slovene — English translation”. When I looked at the letter, there was a feeling I can’t describe. I was looking at the paper that contained words of praise and achievements of a person that has come such a long way. A person I have been proud to travel along with on her path of growth and transformation. I was beyond proud, …. probably the “right” word is — grateful. It made me stop and reflect on the past journey, ups and downs, successes and failures we’d had. I was deeply thankful for the opportunity that knocked on my door and made it possible to explore my professional path and is helping me live purposefully. The letter, the words, the feelings, the “going down the memory lane” and realizing the impact I’ve helped create, embodied the deep feeling and sensation of gratitude I feel and in the moment fillled every cell of my body.

We try to stay in contact as much as possible with our totally different schedules. When she moved from Slovenija I felt like a chapter of our lives has closed and another one is opening. I will keep her words to me dear to my heart: “Thank you for always believing in me. For all your support, dedication and friendship throughout the years. You’ll never know, how much it mattered to me. How much you matter in my life.”

I’m grateful for the whole package.

I’d like to thank your kindly for reading this. If my story resonated with you, please share your thoughts. On life, gratitude, living purposefully and creating an impact in life for you and others. What makes you grateful? How do you express gratitude?

Shoutout on Twitter: Zala Bricelj or join our community #GlobalPicnic LIVE on Blab every Tuesday 1pm ET, 5pm GMT, 7pm CET, 10pm IST.

--

--

Zala Bricelj
URLA Talks

Storyteller. Content Whisperer. #MOOC creator. NLP Master Coach. 24/7 my own. #BizHeroes co-host 👉 monthly / Let’s share stories ☕ #SMM #EDU #EduTech