Anne Frank as a referent of women

Chevy
Urmindace Stories
Published in
2 min readMar 4, 2018

We will be celebrating Women’s day on March 8th, and although I am against having a day for every single event, profession and so on, this is a year in which I am not bothered of bringing Women’s Day to the spotlight, given the many issues we are facing as a society and that still affect so many women around the world.

This time I want to bring Anne Frank to the equation and take her as a referent for women all over the world, as well as for men that like me have looked up to.

Anne Frank is well known around the world thanks to her journaling practices, which were compiled in the book The Diary of a Young Girl. I don’t remember exactly what age I was when I first read it, but I was really young. The book has many aspects to highlight and to analyze, and ultimately the biggest lesson it gave me was that even if your life ends up tragically and earlier than you thought, you leave a huge mark in people’s lives. After her death, Anne Frank ended up turning into the successful writer she wanted to be.

Yet, there’s another reason why I am tying her to Women’s Day, and it’s because Anne showed that at her young age she was a powerful woman, one that wasn’t afraid to share whatever she went through and that had clear goals for her life, even in the middle of the worst possible scenario: the holocaust.

I dearly remember Anne’s expressions towards her situation, and how above everything she ended up being a survivor; she went through a lot with her family and alone, and yet she managed to inspire many people around the world, leaving a legacy that any women should be proud to look up to.

Whether you like these kind of celebrations or not, the most important thing is to remember that we don’t need to have these excuses to be inspired or tell and show those around us the value that they have and how much we love them; and specially in these days, we shouldn’t be blind towards women, we all need to keep fighting for equality, diversity and a better place for us all to live.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

--

--