Black Mirror — Not What I Expected

Soledad
Urmindace Stories
Published in
2 min readNov 23, 2016

If you are looking for something to blow your mind while making you deeply think about your life, life in general, or the future of our society, I highly encourage you to watch Black Mirror on Netflix. The first episode is kind of shocking and it was not at all what I expected. I had to double check and make sure I was watching the right show. That end was something I never thought I would ever see in a TV show, like EVER! I think the shocking nature of it speaks to what this TV show is trying to get across. The show doesn’t stop there, as each episode you get this slap in the face with one issue or another that is underlying in our society.

You don’t build a long term relationship with the characters because each episode you get a different set of characters. Yet, even with this set up you connect with the characters and find yourself feeling sorry for some of them. You can connect with some of their weakness, or even deeply feel their pain. Currently my favorite episode is the first episode of season three titled “Nosedive.” Bryce Dallas Howard and Alice Eve star in this episode and take us on an all too real journey on how destructive social media is. The episode shows just how addictive we can become to our social media posts and trying to be liked and “rated.” Each interaction between humans is rated out of five stars in “Nosedive.” Depending on what rating you are you are treated differently, and humans who are rated lower than a certain number are outcasted. It also highlights how fake we are on our social media pages. It was honestly so well written and visually appealing, I loved the episode. The end was kind of perfect as well, I would like to think that maybe even with all that happened to Bryce Dallas Howard’s character was meant to happen so she could open her eyes to the plastic life she was trying to live. I don’t want to give too much away because I think the reason why I love this show so much was because I knew so little about what it actually was about. It has a George Orwell feel to it, so if you are a fan of his books then you will enjoy this show! Just watch, and let me know what your thoughts are!

Loved the character Lacie!

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

--

--