Bring it on 2016

Soledad
Urmindace Stories
Published in
3 min readJan 4, 2016
Source

There is always excitement around the New Year, and as much as I would like to participate in the New Year’s resolutions, I know I will not keep them. I would rather focus on what is to come in the year, and know that I can count on that to come true. This year will be a big year for sports and movies, and we will have the USA elections towards the end of the year.

This is the year the Olympics come back to bring excitement in our lives. The Olympics will be held in Rio from August 5th through the 21st. Rio is the first South American city to host the Olympics. I love watching as many sporting events in the Olympics, but my favorites are tennis, swimming, football, volleyball, and gymnastics. The Opening Ceremony is also a favorite; I can’t wait to see what colorful and amazing acts we see during the Opening Ceremony. The Euro 2016 will also be taking place this summer. It will be held in France, and will start June 10th and end July 10. Spain has won the past two Euros; will they do the impossible and make it three in a row? Only time will tell, I for one am so thrilled we are closer to the start of the Euro 2016.

Living in the USA I will be forced to participate in the elections this year. I am dreading this because honestly it can get ugly. Without getting too much into the politics, I will say I do not care for most of the ideals of the republicans. I can only hope that whoever is the republican candidate is truly deserving of such a position. I cannot fathom the idea of Donald Trump being a serious candidate for the presidency. 2015 was already filled with too many issues associated with this man, and this needs to stop in 2016. I truly hope that however replaces Obama is going to be representing all the people living in the USA and not just a selective few.

Finally, we can get to talking about some of the amazing movies we have coming up with year. I will not speak on the new Captain America movie because I think that has been over exposed. There are many other superhero movies coming out this year that look promising! Deadpool being one, I recently saw the trailer and it looks very good. I hope it does not disappoint. Batman vs. Superman will be coming out in March, and I am very excited to see that. I still have some speculations toward it, but it looks good and only time will tell how it will be received. Suicide Squad also looks like it will be really good, and it will be expected to perform highly without disappointment. Other movies that look good and are being made in live action are The Jungle Book and The Legend of Tarzan. The trailers for both of those movies look extremely good. The Pixar fans have been waiting long enough for Finding Dory, thankfully this year we will get to watch it on June 17. Johnny Deep will return as the Mad Hatter in Alice in Wonderland: Through the Looking Glass, and I cannot express how happy I will be when I see that movie! Harry Potter fans (like myself!) will be running to the cinema on November 18 when Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is released. Lastly, I can’t help but mention Star Trek: Beyond, because as a fan of the first two movies I am too excited to see the third.

I have hope this year could be a very good year for all of us. There were a lot of bad things in 2015, but there were also good things. I know that if we work hard enough 2016 can have more good than bad things. If not them we will have some amazing movies to look forward too, and some spectacular sporting events. Wishing all of you an amazing 2016, cheers!

--

--