Don’t Just Make it Another Year

Stefany
Urmindace Stories
Published in
4 min readDec 28, 2015
Picture Source

Whether one believes it or not there is yet another year waiting for us just around the corner. There is much to do and much to be involved in that one new year is simply not enough. Every year there are new things and places we wish to see. There are so many changes we hope to see within ourselves, our close friends and family, or with others around the world. Our desires for new and wonderful things are always so strong when the first day of the New Year comes. For me there are a lot of things that I want to be able to do and to see for the coming year. I am determined to make this year one that I will be very proud of. I have never made resolutions in the past years and I don’t really know why, but this year I feel like I should write down what I would like to accomplish in the next year. I am willing to work hard and to enjoy every single day of the coming year. I promise to myself that I will not make this year just another year.

To start with I would like to begin drawing and painting again since I have lacked in that enjoyment for far too long. I have always loved art and anything that has to do with it. Drawing and painting have given me a way to escape from many realities since I can remember. From the time I realized how magical it was to form creatures and create colors on paper I have always used this hobby as a way to hide from the reality of life. I think that it is a good and healthy way to escape from the realities that we must face each and every day in life. Just like others like to escape from their issues by reading or writing I find it very relaxing to be able to wonder in the life of art.

Picture Source

Another thing I wish to do more in the New year is to read as much as possible. I always complain that I never have enough time to read but when I get home and have a spare moment I find myself just watching television. There are so many good books that I have yet to read and be drowned in the marvelous waters of each page. Reading, like art, is another form of escape for all of us. I hope that in the New Year we are all able to read more and enjoy the ability to appreciate a good book. There are so many great writers out there that are looking for eager readers and I have volunteered to be one of them.

Volunteering to read is not just what I hope to do in 2016 because I believe that there are far better things to volunteer for in this world. Over the years I have done some volunteering but I feel as though I have not done enough. There is so much more out there that I can do to help others and I really hope that I will be able to do so next year. I really would like to help out in soup kitchens or homeless shelters. I think that each and every human is capable of lending a small hand where ever they can. If every person who is able could help out even a little bit we would live in a much better world.

Picture Source

I also have some wishes that I would like to see granted for everyone around the world. I want every child, no matter their gender or circumstance, to be able to go to school. For me school was always a great opportunity that I could have been able to live without. I still don’t understand why so many countries around the world don’t deem it right to give education to each and every person who desires it. We live in a time where so much is possible that I find it regrettable and ridiculous that education is not available to us all. Being able to learn and to teach others is one of the most magical abilities of humans.

I wish to see so much change in human beings that I would have to write for hours just to be able to get some of them down. I want there to be peace within us and to stop the senseless killings of innocent people. I would hope that war and mass shootings for whatever reason could seize to exist. Each and every year I hope for thing such as this to simply stop but of course they must be stopped by actions. We need to take more actions in ending so much hate and so much violence.

Hate is something that can be reduced by our way of thinking and our way of treating others. I want to be able to try and change so much in the coming year that I only hope that I can.

Picture Source

I wish each and every one of you a great and Happy New Year!!!

--

--