It’s Baseball Time

Stefany
Urmindace Stories
Published in
3 min readOct 16, 2017
That’s me meeting Mike Moustakas from the Kansas City Royals

It’s that time of the season once more. For all those who know me, and my love of October, there is one thing that I always look forward to just as much as Halloween. There has not been one year in which I don’t sit around, or jump when my team is involved, during The Post Season. This year my baseball team didn’t make the playoffs, but my dad’s team did and that’s just as exciting. Baseball has always been a favorite sport for my family and for me. So being able to enjoy the games with them is something I always look forward to during this time.

We are just as involved in the beginning of the baseball season as we are now. This year we were even able to go to a Spring training game. Three of my siblings and I were lucky enough to go to San Antonio to watch the Texas Rangers play the Cleveland Indians. It was really amazing getting to go watch a baseball game out of state. We are always able to go watch the Kansas City Royals play, so being able to travel to see a different team was a lot of fun.

It’s always fun to go watch my team play and even more so when most of my family goes as well. I remember going to watch the Royals play since I was in grade school. My dad has always been an avid fan of baseball and his love for the game is how I grew up knowing baseball. He used to be a catcher so it was always so interesting hearing him tell stories of when he used to play. Now we enjoy going to watch games in Kansas City and just at home as well. This summer we didn’t get to watch a lot in the stadium but have been keeping up with it on television.

I have gone as far as to watch the games on my app while away from home! It’s just too much for me to not be able to get involved if I’m not at home watching. Baseball has just been something I have always known and have grown up loving. My dad’s stories and his enjoyment of the game are still so vivid to me, and every year I look forward to this time. We love watching the games even if ours don’t make it to The Post Season. This year of course the Royals didn’t make it but the Houston Astros did! My dad grew up in Texas and he has a love for the Houston team as much as he does for the game itself.

So his team has made it but so has my brother’s team. Well, two of my brothers actually are fans of the Yankees. I for one am not a fan at all of that team, yet it’s exciting to just be watching the game. My brothers both used to play baseball, but over the years they haven’t been keeping up as much. Yet, I do know they are excited to have their team in the playoffs. All of my siblings grew up with a love of the game from watching it at home with our dad. Now as an adult it’s still just as fun and interesting to watch the games with my dad. I love bad talking the umpires, yelling at the outs, and cheering at home runs and crazy plays.

And there have been a lot of crazy plays in this Post Season. It’s been an enjoyment to be able to yell and scream in excitement and anger at the plays. So far the Chicago Cubs, LA Dodgers, New York Yankees, and the Houston Astros are the teams in The Post Season. Right now as I type this the Astros have a two game lead against the Yankees, while the Dodgers have a one game lead against the Cubs. I really am routing for the Astros, but I am just excited to be able to watch baseball with my dad.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

--

--