Just Pack Already

Stefany
Urmindace Stories
Published in
3 min readJul 13, 2017
Picture Credit

One would think that after many road trips I would learn my lesson and not pack last minute. Well of course that is not the case since I will be heading to Chicago in less than ten hours, and I have packed nothing. I’m not entirely sure as to why I keep making this mistake. Actually I know that I can be pretty lazy so that might have something to do with it. I always get extremely excited when I travel so I can’t help that I’m so distracted that I procrastinate my packing.

All fun and games aside I will be making a list that will be helpful for anyone that has the same trouble as I do. It’s not difficult at all to pack, but getting motivated is my problem. So the first step for me is to get some good music going. Music always seems to help me get things started and it enables me to work through at a faster rate. I have actually created a playlist titled “get motivated” (I use this list for a variety of other things since my procrastination can be a reoccurring issue) which I will be using to help me get started packing.

The next thing that needs to be done is getting my suitcase out. The one good thing about me is that I always make sure to clean it after every trip. That helps because I know that when I pack again it will be ready. With my suitcase set I start to pack my clothes. I usually just pack short and t-shirts (during the summer of course and for winter it would be opposite clothing) and decide what to wear when I arrive at my destination. Some people will actually pack each outfit according to what they will be doing each day while on vacation. I just find it easier to just pack the amount of short and shirts needed for each day and I will just pick whatever I feel like each day. Others will probably think that I do this because it’s much faster and less work is involved. Well you wouldn’t be wrong since this plays into my laziness but whatever works is fine with me.

Finding ways that make things easier is one of the best ways to help me pack. The next step for me is packing any additional shoes I might want to take. It’s always good to take at least an extra pair just in case. For me I want to be able to have sandals and flats just in case I need change from one to the other. So for my shoes I always pack in a smaller suitcase along with my bathroom materials. To help me pack my bathroom things I like to go in with the suitcase and just start putting things in. I start with the bathtub essentials and move on to teeth, body, and hair. It goes by much faster for me to have my bag and just put my things in going in that order.

Next I move on to the remaining things that are needed in any road trip. I have a tote that is used for my charger, other phone essentials, snacks, and other miscellaneous. It’s always helpful to have an accessible bag items such as these. This bag will be riding shotgun due to the importance of the items it holds. Another bag that is of great importance is the first aid kit. The kit for me must consist of medicines ranging from ibuprofen to Dramamine. The usual is also included such as band-aids, gaze pads, anti itch cream, and so on. As I’m typing this I myself am getting ready to finally go and pack, but can’t help but feel as though I am for forgetting to include something. Such is the same feeling that comes each and every time I walk out the door with my things packed.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

--

--