Music Knows You Best

Soledad
Urmindace Stories
Published in
3 min readMay 11, 2018
picture source

We all have one friend in common who always says exactly what we need to hear to help us feel better. This friend is taken for granted when we can’t lean on them for support, but it is the best of friends because it is with us any time of day anyway. If you haven’t guessed from my title the friend I’m talking about is music!! Music is the only “person” who can make me feel better when I’m happy, depressed, angry, excited, and every emotion in between. We are so lucky to be able to get so much music in today’s time. We not only get to enjoy classical music of the past, the golden classics of decades recently passed, but we also get all of today’s mix of music from every corner of the world. How lucky are we.

I can’t talk about music without bringing up the first album I ever saved money to buy and played on repeat for a year. I still have the CD in my room and although I don’t have a CD player anymore I still listen to the album on my phone. I was 14 years ago when Simple Plan released Still Not Getting Any. It was the second album released by the band I completely fell in love with it. As a teenager I felt truly understood by the album. Almost fourteen years since it was released I still hold the album very dearly to my heart, even more so because it was the first album I become obsessed with. When I listen to the songs they bring back all these memories, good and bad. It is amazing that music can make us feel so many different emotions and on top of that it brings us back to times passed. It can transfer us to a time and place that might no longer be there, or makes us see people who are no longer with us. Music is the driving force in my life. No matter how well I feel or how hopeless I am music is there ready to let me encompass my feelings or if I’m willing to make me feel better. Did you have a favorite first album you still listen to today? I would love to hear about it.

My copy of the CD. Has a few cracks on the outside but still looks great.

“We won’t let them change how we feel in our hearts
We’re not gonna let them control us
We won’t let them shove all their thoughts in our heads
And we’ll never be like them” -Me Against the World, Simple Plan

There was a list of songs I read about once that was title something like “songs that make me cry.” I found the title funny, but still read the list because I was curious to see this magical list of songs that supposedly made men cry. The only song I remember from the list is “Everybody Hurts” by R.E.M. If you are not familiar with the song I suggest you listen to it because it is a song that can truly bring anybody to tears. However, the article made me realize music is not the same for everybody. What might make me happy and thankful might make someone else feel pain and tears. Yes, there are some really sad songs out there that bring the same emotions to all of us, but the background is different for each person listening to that song. The images that play across each brain will be unique to each soul and the journey they have been on.

I know that my life would not be stable if I didn’t have the pleasure of listening to music. I am thankful for the artists that are talented and brave enough to make music. They share a piece of themselves with us, and we give ourselves over to the music that fills our hearts.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

--

--