Real Madrid Does it Again

Soledad
Urmindace Stories
Published in
3 min readJun 5, 2017

The reigning Champions League winners were able to defend their title and make history with their 4–1 win against Juventus. Real Madrid has become the first team to win back to back Champions League titles in the Champions League era. When the tournament was known as European Cup Milan won it in 1989 and 1990. Real Madrid won their 12th Champions League title, or La Duodecima, Saturday, June 3 in Cardiff. This is Real Madrid’s third Champions League in 4 years; an incredible feat. Not to mention they had just won their 33rd Liga title two weeks ago.

The first half of the game both teams were evenly matched, but Real Madrid took over the second half. We saw two goals from Cristiano Ronaldo, one from Casemiro and Asensio, and one incredible goal from Juventus’ Mandzukic. I didn’t know what to expect with this game because my heart wanted Real Madrid to win so badly, but realistically speaking I know that they could lose.

Cristiano Ronaldo made history himself by being the first player to score in three Champions League finals. He was the first to score in the final at about the 20th minute, but not too long afterwards Mandzukic tied the game up with the incredible goal that left me shaking. Not just because it was stunning but because my nerves shot up, and I felt as though I would be suffering even more throughout the game. The first half ended with both teams having scored one goal. As the second half began fans of both fans were on the edge of their seats. Would we have to tear our hearts out to keep us from heartbreak at the end of the game, or would our team win? Thankfully for Real Madrid fans the team took control of the game and we saw Casemiro break the tie at the 61st minute, and then Ronaldo brought it to 3–1 a few minutes later. By this point I was riding high with joy, but still cautious of anything that could happen in the game. Our fears were put to rest when Asensio gave us the fourth goal of the match. This goal gave me the peace of mind I needed to think we were in the clear, but it brought on the excitement of actually seeing Real Madrid win La Duodecima.

As a Real Madrid fan it was very nerve racking to watch my team play this final, but I can’t describe the emotion and joy I felt when the final whistle blew. It is such an amazing feeling to see the players celebrate this win. With all the questionable things going on in the world having this bring some joy to me is the best thing I could have asked for. The club has done so many things for its fans just two weeks we celebrated the 33rd Liga title and today the celebrations were brought back thanks to the players and Zidane. There are so many things I would say to all the players and Zidane to thank them for bringing joy to their fan’s lives. Even if you are not a fan of Real Madrid you cannot deny that they are on top of the world right now. I will cherish this win for the rest of my life! HALA MADRID!

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

--

--