Small Joys of Traveling

Stefany
Urmindace Stories
Published in
3 min readMar 23, 2017
Morning view from the Omni hotel in Corpus Christi, TX

To travel is to be free and experience a part of life that is unique. To be able to sleep in one city and wake up in another is profound. The roads are each more different than the next. They offer a glimpse of the soul that can’t be seen. To see the trees, grass, and clouds change from one place to another is something each person should get to experience.

I for one have experienced many things on the trips I have taken. I’ve travelled many roads and seen many towns and cities. I’ve been to famous attractions and even infamous ones as well. Yet, in my last adventure I found more meaning in the simple things about traveling. For some reason I had never given much thought to the small things.

Waking up in one city and going to sleep in another was my favorite of these small joys. In my last trip my family and I went to Corpus Christi, TX and we were there for a few days. On our way there we stoped in Fort Worth, TX so that we wouldn’t be on the road too long. So it was a small joy to get to wake up in Fort Worth and go to bed in Corpus Christi. On our trip back home we again split the time on the road and stopped in Temple, TX. So after waking up on our last day in Corpus Christi we went to sleep in Temple. To see the sun rise in one city and see it set in another really is a blissful feeling. There is so much that we can take for granted when we are able to travel. I think that this is one of those things most people miss out on even when they don’t travel. I can’t really put into words why seeing the sun set and rise in different places made me feel. For some reason it brought a lot of emotions that I had not experienced on my travels before. To see the rays of the sun set so quietly on the beach made me feel so lucky. I realized that many people rarely get to see other cities and I couldn’t imagine not being able to travel.

After returning home and speaking with co-workers about my trip I felt really grateful to be able to experience so much. Many of my co-workers haven’t traveled outside of our city or our state. Others never were able to travel when they were young and wished they had. Many of them hope to be able to travel after they retire. I’ve been able to travel and see different things all my life. I can’t imagine not having been able to see so much when others still haven’t had the opportunity to get out of our city. I had a great time getting to see the main attractions on our trip to Texas, but the simple things I were able to see made my trip worth while even more.

Night view from the Omni hotel in Corpus Christi, TX

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

--

--