This is what I learned from filming my most recent trip

Chevy
Urmindace Stories
Published in
2 min readMar 21, 2017

The proliferation of smartphones and accessible technology has brought a rapidly growing amount of images and videos that before were expensive and hard to produce. Yet, there’s people like me who still decided to study the arts of audiovisual content because there’s more to it than knowing how to press a shutter button or put a song on top of a video.

I have always been a camera lover, specially of still photography, but throughout my career I didn’t focus on it not because I didn’t want to but because I found other areas I fell in love with. Now I decided to start practicing more and this was the first result:

I took the leap and decided not only to take photos but to record videos of my trip with the objective of putting this video together. So what did I learn?

  1. Do it. We tend to have these goals in mind, even the smallest ones, but for whatever reasons (usually not very reasonable ones) we don’t even try. I had to put aside the “I might not be as good as I would like” to just do it and realize that yes, I will always be subject of improvement and there will always be someone better than me, but the point is on doing my best and challenging myself to keep improving.
  2. I love to live through camera lenses. And although there are many things I like to witness only through my eyes, I am constantly thinking in a photography mode. Recording this video and putting it together was a nice way to print these images in my mind and experience the moment in a way I also enjoy.
  3. People seeing me with a camera might be uncomfortable but that’s okay. People can lack trust and they probably don’t like to be filmed and I try not to focus in just one person, but also they can also see me with weird eyes because I am filming in my vacations. So what?
  4. Taking photos and videos to remember is nice. Okay, so this is obvious but sometimes, because of the saturation of electronic devices, we decide to take away our cameras and smartphones and not take any photo. It is cool to enjoy the actual trip, but if we record and take photos without spending 100% of our time behind a screen, it’s surely going to be something worth looking back at.
  5. But the most important thing I learned was that I can do it. I can’t stop myself from creating just for fear or any other reason.

I didn’t fail at it, and if I had, I would have still loved and enjoyed it. Here’s to more trips and behind the camera experiences.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

--

--