Blog Post 6

Kaela Chavez
US-Mexico Border Issues
2 min readApr 22, 2024

In the story of The Beast, Martinez was able to write this book and give a great perspective to readers based on the point of view he writes. This book personally gave me a lot of perspective and had me really take a step back and look deeper into the border and the process of those who were trying to get across into the United States.

I believe that Martinez really showed the lives of these migrants, the different obstacles they had to go through, and how that shaped their future. We were also provided with descriptive scenarios that would leave the reader with mental images of what was going on at the border.

Martinez was able to put many different individuals into the story to make us readers understand deeply.

“Migrants don’t just die, they’re not just maimed or shot or hacked to death,” Mr. Martínez writes. “The scars of their journey don’t only mark their bodies, they run deeper than that. Living in such fear leaves something inside them, a trace and a swelling that grabs hold of their thoughts and cycles through their head.” By capturing that grim reality, and in such gripping prose and detail, Mr. Martínez has both distinguished himself and done us all a vital public ser vice.

Migrants live a different life than others would experience. I believe that's what Martinez was trying to do in this story. I think that Martinez's purpose in writing this was to show the importance of the what is going on at the border. The purpose of him writing these stories is to bring attention to what is going on at the border. I think by him giving exact stories of individuals that have lived at the border gives more perspective and makes it more memorable for those at the border.

In his perspective, I think its important to speak about those who were at the border because it brings attention to the issues that were going on. We can see the inequality and the issues with migrants at the border.

I think that Martinez can related to many other works. Martinez makes many valid points and allows readers to gain a lot of knowledge of this subject. In the sense of Contraband Corridor they both make points that readers can understand. Readers can understand what is going on at the border and can get a first point of view that allows the readers to see first hand perspective.

I was very interested in Martinez's work because of the perspective that he gives. I was able to see what was going on and play that in my mind. It was very descriptive and gave me an understanding of the issues at the border. By providing real-life examples of those at the border it made it hit a little closer to home. I personally feel like I get more into the reading or I understand a bit more when the author makes it first hand of what's going on so that it makes it more memorable.

--

--