PSA for Millennials: We’ve Found the Perfect Company for You

Riya Malhotra
USA TODAY NETWORK Interns
3 min readJul 10, 2017

Over the past few years, the internship hunt has become more competitive in nature, and students are applying earlier in their college careers. Due to the competitive nature of the internship hunt, any internship is considered a win. As such, it can be generalized that certain aspects of internships will give you a leg up in acquiring the next internship; for example, name recognition.

Being in the Top 10 U.S. news and information category, it’s clear that an internship at USA TODAY NETWORK is an eye-catching addition to one’s resume. That being said, the success of a business is hardly the most important feature to consider when deciding where to apply to internships anymore. While priorities vary from individual to individual, one seems to be consistent across the board: company culture.

Company culture is what makes work not feel like work. Company culture is what makes colleagues feel like friends. Company culture is and what makes USA TODAY NETWORK the best place to intern for millennials. Interning may only be for the summer, but it’s an opportunity to get invited back for the following summer or full-time employment. An internship is also a chance to discover what type of company you want to work for, and that’s why company culture is crucial.

Many companies are solely looking at how you can serve them, while USA TODAY NETWORK also wants to see how they can serve you. The NETWORK caters to interns and employees right off the bat, even before an offer is extended. As their website says: “Whatever your talents, we probably have a job that fits. And if we don’t, let’s invent it.”

Once hired, USA TODAY NETWORK doesn’t stop trying to improve their interns’ professional and personal development. Although I have only been here for four weeks, I have been exposed to countless informational meetings and have interacted with supervisors in various departments — opportunities that have allowed me to network and ask questions freely I’m genuinely curious about while receiving honest and productive feedback. Not only have I explored different areas of the business, but I have also sat down and had a session all about me. In this session, professionals from a wide range of departments reviewed my resume, gave me advice on the corporate world in general, provided me with feedback on how to obtain the next internship, and asked me questions specific to my career path.

Flexibility is another key component USA TODAY NETWORK possesses that makes it so attractive to millennials. Millennials are indecisive; most people don’t know exactly what they want to do, and USA TODAY NETWORK molds your position so that you can experience and seize any opportunity that comes your way. For example, I’m a finance major and work in the revenue performance and analysis department, but I love writing. After expressing that interest, I’m now writing this piece for the intern blog!
People who work at USA TODAY NETWORK want to help you. Countless employees and high level supervisors have made it extremely clear that they would be happy to get lunch and talk about anything (work related or otherwise), and have given out their contact information, encouraging all interns to reach out. Having a network of what feels like the entire company is tremendously comforting. I know I have an endless supply of outlets I can reach out to for any guidance or support I need.

As important as all the work-related culture is, millennials also like to have fun. From T-shirt Tuesdays to baseball games (and even a few happy hours in between), USA TODAY NETWORK makes sure to incorporate a multitude of activities and events that are enjoyable for both interns and employees. Bridging the gap between the two is also what makes USA TODAY NETWORK so unique. Here, the interns truly feel like a part of the company.
As someone who is excruciatingly picky in finding what work environment is best, I can honestly say USA TODAY NETWORK has been more than surpassed my wildest imagination, and I highly encourage anyone and everyone to apply to intern here!

--

--

Riya Malhotra
USA TODAY NETWORK Interns

Financial Analyst Intern for USA TODAY NETWORK in McLean, VA