Soundcloud Usability Test

Michael Gabriel Gadin
Usability Testing
Published in
3 min readOct 12, 2014

INTRODUCTION

SoundCloud is an online audio distribution platform based in Berlin, Germany that enables its users to upload, record, promote and share their originally-created sounds. In July 2013, it had 40 million registered users and 200 million listeners

OBJECTIVES

The objectives of the sound cloud are the following.

· Users can be able to listen their favourite songs.

· It also allows the user to create a cover of their favourite songs

· It also categorize the genre of the user.

· It also allows the user to share their cover songs.

· A Social networking site for the users that are in to music.

Test Tasks

· Explore

· Upload

· Follow a user

· User profile

· Notification

· Settings

· Comment

· Search

· Groups

· Listen to Tracks

Analysis

The stream button allows the users to see the uploaded songs or track of the people he followed. When the users followed 1 account, it allows them to see the latest update of that user. The user can be able to search a song, account name, singer. The system also allows the user to upload a cover song of one track to be able to share to the users followers.

Those are the sample of my friends uploaded task. where in I can be able to comment and listen to it.

This is my profile. as you can see, I didnt upload anything yet. I have five followers. My profile also allows me to see who are my followers and who are the people that i am following. The soundcloud can also access to facebook where in I can share my tracks to facebook community.

In the EXPLORE button, It allows the user to view the track depending on the genre category.

FINDINGS

I noticed that soundcloud is almost perfect for music social networking site. But it is more convinient if the developers will allow the user to talk with each other. I also notice there are some tracks that are viewed in different genre category.

On the other hand, it is more intertaining to listen and watch a video of a track. So my recommendation is they should allow the users to upload a video of a track for those people who like to upload cover song to ensure that they are the ones who do it. Some people like to download a cover song rather than the original track. That is why I suggest to allow the user to download the cover song given that the singer allowed them to.

--

--