A Day In Life Of A Social Media Manager

At The FinTech Startup

Victoria Kuzmina
USDX Wallet
3 min readDec 6, 2018

--

December is a mega-busy month. It’s full of festive emotions and activities, but the job should be done nevertheless. Here is my routine as an SM Manager at the exciting FinTech startup. I mention all apps that help me to get the job done even during the most pressing days of the season.

I start the day with reading the news. Since the startup I work at deals with blockchain and crypto, these are topics I pay close attention to. Flipboard and Medium are my major resources for longer articles and analytics, while CryptoCatnip app provides me with crypto-related headlines. I use Pocket to store materials for later references or reposting.

I post longreads on USDX Wallet blog (that’s the startup I’m working at) on a weekly basis, usually towards the end of the week. My ideas for next longreads are neatly noted and kept in the Bear writing/notes app. I scan through them and start “sketching” the upcoming publication. Since I’m a true research geek, I can get carried away while surfing* www for inspirations/references/images, so I use Toggl app for time tracking and time management.

A coffee-break (I usually have 3 or 4 cups per day) is often my time for creative procrastination. I can flip through images on Unsplash or EyeEm, read sci-fi and tech channels on Telegram or listen to the music to give my eyes a much-needed rest.

It’s during these coffee pauses I get “snaps” of how future longreads will look like.

Community management is also part of my daily routine. We have Twitter, Facebook, and Telegram channels, but also an in-app chat — these are all my domains. I keep templates of answers to members’ most popular questions in Google Docs. The flexibility of Google Docs helps me to customize templates when I need to and on the go and to never lose an original document (or part of the text in it).

Press-releases, product promo articles, emails and other content related to PR and ads is a collaborative work of our marketing department. So we use a combination of Slack/Google Docs/Trello to develop, write, check and re-write texts with minimum time wasted. Trello is also the best when it comes to collabs with our designer.

What are your “life-saving” apps? Am I missing new and excellent alternatives to my favorites?

*I use Ecosia as my primary search engine. It’s described as “the search engine that plants trees” because 80% of its surplus income is donated to non-profit organizations focusing on reforestation and conservationism.

--

--

Victoria Kuzmina
USDX Wallet

Creative writer focusing on stories about ladies with an attitude & multilayered female relationships. Work as a content creator for NFT & metaverse projects.