7 things I learned from starting a podcast

JH Forster
User Interviews
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2018

--

That’s right—talking about a podcast in listicle format. All the annoyingly trendy internet things. Look at me. I’m hip! I’m cool!

Anyway…

  1. You’ll get numb to the sound of your own voice. This happened much faster than I expected. I love to talk but I hate hearing my own voice. I believe this is true for lots of folks. But don’t worry, this will go away quickly. Like, really quickly. This was a big surprise to me but it was a very welcome surprise.
  2. Editing audio files is fun. I am not a musical person, sadly, so I’ve never played around with audio editing tools before this. It was really rewarding to learn some new skills and get a grip on the editing basics. Never dismiss the value of learning new things. Plus, it was a good excuse to finally open the Garage Band app on my laptop that has been gathering dust for years.
  3. Get yourself a co-host. The credit for starting said podcast goes to Erin H. May. Would I have tried to do it on my own someday? In theory, maybe. In reality, no. Plus it is really nice to have someone who can help you sift the good ideas from the bad. I knew I had lots of ideas. Guess what? It turns out they are mostly bad.
  4. The little details matter a lot (note: I love this blog). It took some doing for us to learn how to interrupt one another, how to trim sections down to be more concise, fade music in and out, etc. I’m not suggesting we’re great, or even good, at those things yet. But even the small tweaks we’ve made have had a big impact on how it comes across. It feels more put together.
  5. Putting yourself out there is scary. To be honest, I had some concerns about what people might say. But it turns out people are kind—yes, even on the internet. People have been encouraging, thoughtful, and offered good suggestions. I’ve yet to be roasted… Even a small comment like “good name for a podcast” has meant a lot in these early, fragile days.
  6. Spend a lot of time brainstorming names. For one thing, it is fun to be unhinged creatively by tossing out idea after idea. It’s a valuable outlet to have when you’re getting frustrated by other things (see: editing audio & little details). But more importantly, it is a good way to uncover what you want the podcast to be. Explaining why you don’t like a word or suggestion provides a lot of context on thoughts that’d otherwise stay buried in your head. Seriously.
  7. Publishing a podcast is an oddly cool milestone. I know, I know—anyone with a smartphone and some free time can make a recording and get onto the major podcast platforms. Really, I know this. There are a lot of podcasts out there, I get it. But it still was a really cool moment! I’ll die on this hill. It was a “first” for me and firsts are fun. Don’t believe me? I’ll let Kurt Vonnegut explain.

Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven’s sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possibly can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something.

So check out Awkward Silences and let me know what you think. You could even be the first person to rip it to shreds if you want?

Read more about the Awkward Silences launch on User Interviews.

--

--

JH Forster
User Interviews

SVP of Product @ Skedda (lead Product, Design, Engineering). Former cohost of Awkward Silences. Trying to read fewer productivity articles.