Plugins of the Year

Alex R. Young
usevim
Published in
1 min readJan 25, 2014

I’m peering out at you through a haze of Christmas dinner and fairy lights, finding a welcome distraction from assembling toys and cooking. I’ve written about many plugins over the last year, but I use two regularly, so I’d like to offer these morsels up as my plugins of the year.

The first is Seek, by Vic Goldfeld. Seek adds a new motion, s, for jumping based on two characters. There have been iterations on this idea since then, but I liked the simplicity of it, and the fact that it feels like built-in functionality.

The next is vim-signify. It shows linewise changes in a file, so you can easily see what lines have changed if you’re using a version control system like Git.

Merry Christmas, happy holidays, and I look forward to writing more about Vim in 2014!

--

--