Cohort 7 Student Spotlight: Meet Tyler

Victoria Suarez
USF-Data Science
Published in
3 min readMar 29, 2019

Tyler Ursuy joined the MSDS program after obtaining a BS in Mathematics from Methodist University. Continue reading to learn more about what brought him to Data Science and his experience in the program!

What were you doing before joining the MSDS program?

I graduated with a BS in Mathematics in May 2018 from Methodist University in Fayetteville, NC where I also played four years of soccer and was the captain of Fellowship of Christian Athletes for one year.

Why did you choose the USF MSDS program?

It was very tempting to move across the country after talking with a couple of friends who recently moved to California and hearing how much they loved the area. Then, while talking to three students from last year’s cohort, it was clear how much they cared about the program and how devoted the professors and faculty are to the program. One of the unique aspects of the USF MSDS program is the practicum experience and was one of my deciding factors.

What started your interest in Data Science?

Until my last year in undergrad, I was convinced that I would pursue mechanical engineering as a career. My first encounter with data science was when I was researching MS of Engineering programs and would often see data science, analytics, or some variation of the name. This sparked my interest in the field, so I decided to do more research and realized that data science was much more aligned with my interests and background. One of the big selling points in data science for me is the seemingly unlimited applications as it has penetrated all fields to some degree. I then found myself applying to data science programs in addition to mechanical engineering programs.

How would you like to apply Data Science after graduating?

I used to be very attached to data science in sports and even though this is still my first choice, I have discovered that I would thoroughly enjoy working in other industries. I am excited about the endless possibilities there are currently in sports, medicine, finance, entertainment, and much more.

Where is your practicum? What are you working on there?

I work for Kiva, a global non-profit microfinance institution that provides crowdfunded microloans to over 2.6 million borrowers through their network of 1.6 million lenders. Kiva is able to do this by forming partnerships throughout the world that act as hubs for people to apply for loans. The project my partner and I decided to take on is to determine the risk level of each of these global partners.

What do you like about the MSDS Program?

In my experience so far, each professor and course has challenged me by pushing me outside of my comfort zone and teaching me more than I expected. Second, which is most likely a popular opinion, the opportunity to immediately apply techniques learned in class to real-world problems in practicum is invaluable. Furthermore, I enjoy the friends I have made in the program so far and I am excited to continue these relationships in the future.

What is your favorite thing to do in SF? What do you like to do for fun or to relax?

When I want to focus on something other than data science, I enjoy keeping up with new advances in engineering and physics, but my favorite activity to have fun is getting outside — whether it is playing soccer, running, exercising at the park, or mountain biking, getting outside is a necessity.

--

--

Victoria Suarez
USF-Data Science

Data Scientist at Chegg. ~ USFCA MSDS alumn ~ Interested in NLP, Computer Vision, and Graph Theory 📊👩🏻‍💻