Cohort 8 Student Spotlight: Meet Ariana

Lisa Chua
USF-Data Science
Published in
3 min readOct 28, 2019

Ariana Moncada joined the MSDS program after obtaining a BS in Mathematics and Statistics from The University of Texas at San Antonio. Continue reading to learn more about her background and what she’s excited to do at her practicum with Hohonu!

What were you doing before the program?

Before the MSDS program, I had just obtained my bachelor’s degree in Mathematics and Statistics from The University of Texas at San Antonio. During my studies, I worked as a research assistant for about two years in a solar forecasting lab.

What led you to Data Science?

While doing research in the solar forecasting lab, I had the opportunity to work with very interesting datasets. I found that I really enjoyed working with data and the ever-pursuit of trying to make sense of the data. What really attracted me to Data Science was how much it reminded me of art (something I like to do on my spare time!). The idea of using creativity with a little math and statistics I learned while in school really led me to this field.

Why USF MSDS?

I chose this program because it had hands-on learning and all the opportunities I was looking for. For one, I knew I wanted to strengthen my computing skills and it was clear that the curriculum was rigorous in this regard and reflected the technologies used in the tech industry. The biggest deciding factor was the unique practicum experience and opportunity to implement what you are learning in the classroom to a real-world problem.

How do you want to apply Data Science after the program?

After the program, I would love to use Data Science in the clean energy or environmental sector. I strongly believe that technology and Data Science can help solve some of the biggest challenges we face in these industries. Knowing that I can apply what I learned and contribute towards an area I am passionate about really excites me!

Where were you placed for practicum?

For my practicum, I was placed in a Hawaii-based startup named Hohonu, which creates low-cost water level sensors that can be used for monitoring coastal communities and areas prone to flooding.

What are you excited to do there?

For one, I am really excited to apply many different modeling techniques I am learning about, such as time series and machine learning, to an incredibly unique dataset. I am also excited at the opportunity to do some interesting data visualizations and figure out the best way to view the data such that it provides business value.

Favorite thing to do in SF? OR anything you’d like to share about your hobbies, what you do to relax on the weekends etc.

There is so much to do here in San Francisco! Since I just moved to the area for the program, my Friday evenings are spent trying new food around the city. Some things I like to do during my spare time is paint and more recently I have picked up hiking!

--

--

Lisa Chua
USF-Data Science

M.S. Data Science student at the University of San Francisco