Cohort 8 Student Spotlight: Meet Dillon

Lisa Chua
USF-Data Science
Published in
2 min readJan 31, 2020

Dillon Quan joined MSDS after working as an electrical engineer at an atomic power laboratory. Continue reading to learn more about how his love of basketball led him to Data Science, and what he’s working on at his practicum with TruSTAR Technology!

What were you doing before the program?

I was working as an Electrical Engineer in New York for a company focused on designing control systems for submarines. My role in that company consisted of troubleshooting circuits in the lab. It was a rewarding position knowing that my work had an impact on the US navy.

What led you to Data Science?

I genuinely love the game of basketball. Although my previous job was impactful, it wasn’t something I was passionate about. At the same time, I saw the field of Data Science grow, specifically in the realm of sports. Seeing that this could be my opportunity to work around something I love, I decided to pursue this change in career.

What has been your favorite class at MSDS so far?

My favorite class thus far will have to be machine learning. On top of being blown away on how the math can work out so beautifully, I also got the opportunity to turn those math equations into something meaningful.

How do you want to apply Data Science after the program?

My ultimate goal will be to apply my Data Science skills to sports analytics, specifically the game of basketball. However, I am open to other opportunities in other verticals, whether in cyber security, tech, or healthcare.

Where were you placed for practicum? How do you like it so far? (If possible a brief sentence or two about what you’re doing there?)

My practicum is at TruSTAR Technology, a company that focuses on developing a cyber security platform to help analysts better defend against cyber attacks. My role there has been very interesting and a great learning experience, as this field is crucial as technology continues to rise. As an intern at TruSTAR, my day could vary from performing data engineering tasks or model training for a specific business objective.

What do you like to do on your downtime?

On my downtime, I love going to my local park in Oakland and play pickup basketball with my friends. After that, grabbing a steak burrito with no beans at a taco truck a few blocks away from my house will make my day.

--

--

Lisa Chua
USF-Data Science

M.S. Data Science student at the University of San Francisco