Conservation Connection

Hispanic Access Foundation interns on nature and conservation in the Latinx community

Latino Conservation Week is an initiative of Hispanic Access Foundation created to support the Latinx community getting outdoors and participating in projects to protect natural resources. Throughout the region, Hispanic Access Foundation interns are spending their summers doing just that.

Learn more about a few of the interns as they share their experiences in nature and reflect on what conservation means to them and the Latinx community.

Karen Soto is a Directorate Fellows Program intern working remotely on digital media and outreach for the national white-nose syndrome team.

There is so much that I love about nature but my favorite thing is just the joy that it brings me to be outdoors. The feeling of seeing something new, like a bird or other wildlife species, is unparalleled. I also love learning about different species and the way they interact with each other and their environments. The fact that nature gives us so much is a close second favorite.

a woman smiles while sitting in a boat

On my first visit to Peru since immigrating from the country as a small child, I visited the place where my dad grew up which is a small town called Chachapoyas. My cousin took me all over the town to various spots including the Gocta waterfall- one of the tallest in the world. I remember her telling me about the famous gallito de la roca (unfortunately called Andean cock-of-the-rock in English) and how they were really rare and we probably would not see them. About halfway along the trail we spotted not one but two of them perched on a branch right above us, in their brilliant red orange plumage. My cousin and I always laugh about how we weren’t able to get quality pictures of them because this was the one time we left the camera battery charging at home. Still, I felt really lucky to have been able to see Peru’s national bird and it was my favorite part of the entire hike.

In many ways Latinx’s are natural born conservationists; reducing and reusing is a large part of many of our cultures. I think many of us also strongly identify with the natural resources of our home lands and by extension, have an innate desire to conserve nature in any landscape. At our best, we recognize that we are a part of nature and that our well being is tied to the conservation of the land and of our resources. As an immigrant community, it can still sometimes feel like environmental issues get pushed aside for more pressing day to day issues like economic security. Which is why addressing social issues is just as important as addressing environmental issues to achieve conservation goals, especially within minority communities.

Cassiel Ramirez is from Elizabeth, New Jersey and is located at Great Swamp National Wildlife Refuge in New Jersey for the summer.

What I love about nature and the outdoors is I get to be immersed in greenery which has allowed me to value the natural sites and think about the conservation efforts to protect them. My hometown is a very urban city so my exposure to forest, farms and other green environments is limited.

a portrait of a woman smiling

When I am in nature and the outdoors, I love to think of ways to preserve these beautiful sites and the policies in which can enforce their protection, so cities like my hometown can have more green spaces. I am currently majoring in Environmental Policy at Rutgers University, which is preparing me to think of ways to preserve and protect nature and the outdoors. Nature and the outdoors give me the opportunity to imagine ways and efforts to protect these green environments that I love so much.

One of my most memorable experiences in nature was at the Great Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. My time at the refuge was jampacked with so much knowledge and fun that I will always cherish these memories. I did invasive species removal, kayaked, hiked a trail, learned about new conservation-minded career paths, mulched a native plant pollinator garden, found snapping turtle eggs, built a bird house, collected bees for sampling, practiced archery, and used the environmental educational app called Agents of Discovery. The educational app was probably the highlight. Agents of Discovery is an enhanced reality, geo-triggered app that allows participants to be outside, active, and engaged in the environment. I used it to discover one of the trails on the refuge. When using the app there were trivia questions about the trail and wildlife around. For example, there was a question about yellow warblers, and it asked what type of sound they made. So, I had to listen to my surroundings on the trail to try to identify the bird’s song. It was an exciting and thrilling learning experience to be able to explore the refuge through an interactive game!

Finally, as a Hispanic Access Foundation intern, conservation is important to the Latinx community because conservation efforts help people feel like they are part of not only the community, but the environment in which they reside in, and conservation gives these communities the knowledge and expertise to take action.

William Miguel is stationed at Eastern Massachusetts National Wildlife Refuge Complex.

This internship has really given me the chance to truly submerge myself in nature and learn about different animals and plants. For example, before this internship, I had little knowledge of what a vernal pool was, and now, I not only know how important they are but also clear indications of one. The most interesting part has been seeing the balance of how all organisms work with one another in nature. As a biology major, I have studied the relationships and equilibrium of nature, but it wasn’t until now that I fully grasp concepts from being able to observe them.

a man takes a selfie before a vast canyon

I like to study nature and hypothesize what evolutionary changes have occurred over time. One particular instance is when I visited the Grand Canyon and was simply amazed by all the different layers of rocks. It was so fascinating to look at the different colors of rocks and think about how each came to be.

One thing I am looking forward to this summer is helping to organize events for Latino Conservation Week! Personally, I had not heard of this week beforehand which only proves how important it is to inform those of all backgrounds on what conservation is and why it is important. Many Latinos come from regions where they could find forests in any direction they looked, but sometimes they may not even know how important it is to preserve such land, especially when moving to the concrete jungles of the US. Through Latino Conservation Week I hope to further the Latino community’s understanding on conservation and how to effectively practice it.

Samaya Rubio is this summer’s Hispanic Access Foundation intern at John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge at Tinicum in Pennsylvania.

I grew up in Torrance, California, which is pretty close to the ocean, so I spent a lot of my time swimming in the ocean and laying in the sand when I was younger. One of my most memorable experiences outdoors was when I was about 12 and a friend and I swam out really far from the shore. We were floating around when a small pod of dolphins swam near us. We didn’t get too close because they’re still wild animals, but we were able to hear them talking to each other when we went underwater. It was so special and made me feel even more at home in the open water knowing that the dolphins were out there and we could exist together.

a woman in waders gives two thumbs up

I love that about the outdoors. I love knowing that I can enjoy these spaces in harmony with the plants and the animals and it makes me feel like I belong there. It makes me feel like there is nothing more important in the world than being present in that moment and taking in the beauty of the world. I love that feeling and I find it most times I am in an outdoor space, whether it be in a forest over here on the east coast or a desert on the west coast, I love everything that nature provides for me and hope to ensure that everyone has access to natural spaces and has a chance to have the feeling of freedom in nature too.

Conservation is important to the Latine/x community because we are affected by it. We are affected by the decisions of lawmakers and everyday people alike when they make decisions like where to spend money on conservation. We constantly work to ensure that we are part of the decision-making process and receive the benefits of conservation and do not incur more of the damages of degradation. Being a Latina in conservation means I work to improve my life and the lives of other Latine folks in the US and beyond. I try to elevate the work of other Latine people in all my work, which is why for Latino Conservation Week (an initiative of the Hispanic Access Foundation) I created an infographic and social media campaign about Latine people in conservation all over the world. My intention is to change peoples’ perceptions of who gets involved in conservation work and to encourage young Latine people to interact with environmental spaces and pursue careers in the field. I want everyone to feel comfortable interacting with their natural spaces and pursuing environmental jobs, and I hope my work will contribute to that goal.

Join us in celebrating Latino Conservation Week as we work to support and protect the natural resources that we call home. The next generation of conservationists are hard at work supporting our communities and National Wildlife Refuge lands and you can too.

--

--