Returning home to conserve the coast

I grew up on Long Island with the ocean a few miles away. The coast was my home, my playground, and my classroom. My love for the outdoors began with the ocean, and soon my passion for wildlife and conservation took off and I never looked back. But I did come home again.

My name is MaryKelly Hilton and I am excited to be working for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service as the Outreach Coordinator for the Long Island Field Office. Just a few weeks ago, I was walking across the stage at The State University of New York at Geneseo to receive my bachelor’s degree in Geography. Not long after and just three days into my new position, I found myself riding in a four-wheel drive vehicle on the beach helping biologists survey threatened and endangered shorebirds that need protection. I’ve learned that life can take you anywhere, and it’s the journey that I’m grateful for.

I previously interned with World Vision Australia in Melbourne, Australia working with the Food Security and Natural Resources team. I contributed to creating a guide of important tree species in South Sudan that would provide necessary natural resources for people to combat food insecurity and help increase crop production. I also edited and contributed to a technical manual for a new farming technique that was sent to community facilitators and project managers globally.

MaryKelly is the Outreach Coordinator at the Long Island Field Office. USFWS

I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to take a road trip to the Australian Outback and spend a few days in Tasmania. The incredible natural landscapes and beautiful creatures that Australia has to offer put into perspective how diverse plant and animal species are around the world, and how all species are interconnected into the natural areas they call home.

MaryKelly in the outback. USFWS

As I’m settling into my new position with the Service, I am eager to serve as a connection between the public and the biologists to inform and educate about important species and conservation efforts. It is vital for the public to understand why we are dedicated to protecting certain species that are threatened or endangered, such as piping plovers and seabeach amaranth.

Left: piping plover Right: seabeach amaranth/ USFWS

As a child, I became aware of the increasing amount of wildlife protection that occurred on the beach. I was not familiar with shorebird fencing, and soon it appeared on the beach every summer. I watched with wide eyes and fascination when groups of biologists and conservationists would explore beyond the fencing and monitor the protected birds and their nests.

Now, I find myself apart of this group of biologists and conservationists that monitor and protect our shorebirds. It is a humbling feeling to be able to return home and see myself on the other side of the fence to monitor and protect, where I’ve always longed to be.

Here at the Long Island Field Office, I am excited to be a part of the protection of our unique habitats and precious wildlife that share the island we are lucky enough to call home.

--

--