“What’s My Love Language? Oh, I’m 100% American Shad.”

The amorous activities of our fishy friends are definitely diverse, so level up your next love convo with a sprinkling of fish facts.

“I really prefer a partner who’s willing to move rocks with their mouth to build me a nest.” -Bluehead chub

Receiving gifts.

Bluehead chubs bring their mates the gift of a gravel nest. The males build the nest by carrying rocks in their mouths.

Valentine’s Card says “My love language is Bluehead Chub”. Words “I’ll bring you all the rocks you need” appear above a fish.

Words of affirmation.

Burbot can sing and make sounds under the ice, and that’s how they congregate for spawning.

Valentine’s Card says “My love language is Burbot”. Words “Let me serenade you with sounds of love” appear above a photo of a fish.

Quality time.

When American shad spawn, the pair swim close together in circles to synchronize before releasing their eggs and milt simultaneously.

Valentine’s Card says “My love language is American Shad”. Words “I want to spend my days swimming with you” appear above a fish.

Physical touch.

As the female brook trout is building the redd, or nest, the male trout will begin his courtship activity. The male brook trout can be seen darting and quivering alongside the working female. He may also swim against her, touching her with his fins.

Valentine’s Card says “My love language is Brook Trout”. Words “Let’s snuggle up and touch fins” appear above a fish.

Acts of service.

Male largemouth bass guard their nests while waiting for their eggs to hatch and continue watching over their brood for several weeks to protect them from predators.

Valentine’s Card says “My love language is Largemouth Bass”. The words “Don’t worry honey, I’ll watch the kids” appear above a photo of a fish.

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service works with others to keep fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats safe, healthy and productive for all Americans.

Card design by Gwen Bausmith/USFWS. Largemouth bass, brook trout, and American shad photos by USFWS.

Bluehead chub photo by N. Burkhead & R. Jenkins, courtesy Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. CC BY-NC-SA 2.0Largemouth bass, brook trout, and American shad photos by USFWS.

--

--

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Updates from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

We’re dedicated to the conservation, protection and enhancement of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats.