Enlist First, Try to Commission Later?

Marine OCS Blog
USMC OCS Blog
Published in
3 min readSep 15, 2012

This question is from a few weeks ago but should help clarify the thinking of the many applicants who have not been selected this year.

Candidate’s Question:

I had a few questions about being selected for OCS. I am 21. I contracted twice for the PLC program and was not selected because of my PFT run time which was 25:40 the first year and 23:30 the second year. I am now a senior in College and will graduate in May of 2012. From what I hear, OCC, which is more competitive than PLC to begin with, has gotten even more so due to the budget cuts. Also, that Air contracts are pretty much in a “logjam”. The January 2013 board is only Reserve, the June 2013 board is females only, and the next active board is in October of 2013. I want to fly eventually.

I was planning on going DEP right now, go enlisted right after I graduate so I’m not being a bump on a log for 3/4 of a year, and learn what it means to be a Marine and get in that brotherhood and mindset before I can learn how to lead Marines.

I’ve heard mixed results from this plan and many people on airwarriors.com say not to enlist if your goal is to become an officer later. But aren’t there plenty of prior enlisted people at OCC?

I have a friend of the family who is a Captain in the Reserves and he said the MOS’s with the lowest cutting scores are usually Intel, Comms, anything Aviation, or Logistics. I would have my degree so I would be a PFC out of boot camp, I could then, from what I’ve heard, pick up LCpl and then Cpl within 3 years. Do you think this is an accurate statement?

Some people are telling me to just wait and try out for the October 2013 board, but I really do not want to wait any longer to get into the military. I thought I was going to AFROTC field training two years ago, then PLC last summer and this summer. Waiting any longer after I graduate would seem like I was spinning my wheels. Also, if I don’t get selected then, it would be a year wasted because I think that the pilot age cutoff is 28.

Any answers/advice/corrections to anything I have said that you could provide would be greatly appreciated and valued.

Response:

If you enlist, you will probably end up getting STUCK enlisted. There are even fewer slots with more competition for officer slots among the enlisted than among civilians. Go do charity work or volunteer or get a job, PT, burnish that resume and application, be patient and wait for the next chance! If you ask a recruiter if you should enlist, he will tell you whatever you want to hear.

Air contracts, correct.[caption id=”attachment_846" align=”alignright” width=”199"]

OCS PFT Finish Line, the Parade Deck

See these Candidates? That’s called “running.”[/caption]

OCC, extremely competitive, yes.

Get a 300 PFT. Don’t go A to B via Z. Many, many enlisted Marines want to go officer and have much better PFT scores than you, have combat experience, and have not gotten selected. Do you really think you’ll get selected as a Corporal ahead of Staff Sergeants with 290 PFT & 290 CFT with combat experience?

Your run time is very poor. You should have been able to take off more than two minutes in a year. Perhaps your dedication level is not appropriate for your current goal.

--

--

Marine OCS Blog
USMC OCS Blog

Educating and motivating future Marine Corps officers since 2009. Candidate checklist: 1. Read OCS Blog. 2. Be badass at OCS. 3. Become an Officer.