The Ultimate OCS Graduation and Commissioning Gift Guide

Marine OCS Blog
USMC OCS Blog
Published in
2 min readSep 25, 2010

“What should I get a graduating or commissioning candidate?” is a question asked by many family members unfamiliar with the Corps.
The following were my favorite gifts when I graduated OCS and commissioned (on the same day).

If you have a new Second Lieutenant en route to The Basic School, check out our TBS gift guide.

[caption id=”” align=”aligncenter” width=”135"]

2ndLt-insignia

Click for our TBS gift[/caption]

-2nd Lieutenant Challenge Coin

2nd Lt Coin

-OCS Coin

-Engraved Kabar Knife (2nd Lt First Last/Date of Commissioning)

[caption id=”attachment_1242" align=”alignnone” width=”160"]

Kabar

A Marine’s best friend[/caption]

-A USMC doormat

[caption id=”attachment_1243" align=”alignnone” width=”160"]

Marine Corps Doormat

A Marine Corps Doormat was my favorite gift![/caption]

-USMC License plate holder

-The green Officer Candidates School shirts that officers at OCS get to wear.

-USMC money clip (for me, I liked that alot since it was something I wanted)

[caption id=”attachment_1244" align=”alignnone” width=”160"]

USMC Money Clip

Sexy USMC Money Clip[/caption]

-Nice military watch, waterproof with a compass

I didn’t get an engraved mug but that is another popular idea. Same with a sword display.

Remember, what is special differs quite a bit depending on personal preferences. Expensive is not necessarily better. A $15 doormat that claimed my house was a USMC house was my absolute favorite thing! So think what your candidate would like.

--

--

Marine OCS Blog
USMC OCS Blog

Educating and motivating future Marine Corps officers since 2009. Candidate checklist: 1. Read OCS Blog. 2. Be badass at OCS. 3. Become an Officer.