Breaking News: Fall Out Boy’s Joe Torhman has been found

Fall Out Boy’s guitarist, missing since the release of their last single, “Young and Menace,” has been located on the band’s new song, “Champion.”

Kevin Sowkey
UTIOM
2 min readJul 17, 2017

--

The prodigal son returns. Turn on “Champion” and right after the first guitar riff, if you listen close enough, you can hear a sigh of relief from Fall Out Boy fans.

“And I’m back with the madness. I’m a champion of the people who don’t believe in champions.”

In multiple interviews, FOB has stated that “Young and Menace” was “the furthest left” the band would take their sound on the upcoming album.

When asked on The Woody Show if “Young and Menace” was indicative of what FOB’s album MANIA will sound like, Pete Wentz responded, “It’s all going to sound complementary. We’re into creating a body of work and albums are super important to us, still.”

Preferably, MANIA will sound more like “Champion” than “Young and Menace.”

“Champion” begins with an infectious guitar riff, coupled with haunting vocals from Patrick. Once the drums come in, I’m crying. The chorus is repetitive, but hard-hitting and honest: “If I could live through this, I can do anything.

I’ve mentioned before that Fall Out Boy can do no wrong in my eyes, which may be the reason I’m in love with this track. It’s still yet to be known what their entire album will sound like, but personally, I know I’ll be obsessed.

Grade:

  • 8/10

--

--

Kevin Sowkey
UTIOM
Editor for

Est. 1994. Writer&Editor for UTIOM. Lyricist&Bassist for Tired of Insanity.