‘Candy Rain’ by Soul for Real

It reminds me of all the good things the women figures in my family have done for me.

Jasmine Gomez
UTIOM
2 min readJul 6, 2017

--

“To me, it’s my favorite song of all time because it’s a genuine happy song. If you think about it, it’s so creative. Candy coated raindrops? Imagine if raindrops were really candy-coated. It’s just happiness. That’s how I envision myself when I have a wife in the future, that if I genuinely love this woman, I’m going to love her forever no matter what. It’s a part of my culture. That song is definitely from the soul. It reminds me of all the good things the women figures in my family have done for me. My mom held it down for me by herself, my grandma looked after me when my mom couldn’t, my aunts took me in too. It’s just an upbeat song. It will be played at my wedding.”

My love, do you ever dream of/ Candy coated raindrops/ You’re the same, my candy rain

Candy Rain — Soul for Real

Read this post on the Song Story Series Instagram. Send your stories to contactutiom@gmail.com.

Song Story Series is an exploration of the ways in which music and life cross paths. Documenting experiences, one song at a time.

Curated by Jasmine Gomez

--

--

Jasmine Gomez
UTIOM

Grad Student @NewhouseSU | Contributing writer @Syracusedotcom | Music & Culture Enthusiast | Email me jgomez01@syr.edu. IG: SongStorySeries