‘Dear No One’ by Tori Kelly

The song is a love song and she’s writing it to no one.

Jasmine Gomez
UTIOM
2 min readJul 7, 2017

--

“It’s about not really worrying or stressing about being in a relationship. The song is a love song and she’s writing it to no one. The way I see it is a lot of people our age, that are young or are in their 20’s, are stressing about being in relationships or finding that right person, or whatever have you. But she’s just saying ‘don’t worry about that.’ The time will come when there will be someone. There’s all these love songs about ‘oh I wish this person would love me,’ or whatever, but it’s like why are you even worried about that. That’s such a small portion of life that you should just live life for what it is and the right person will come and find you in the right time.” .

I don’t really like big crowds/ I tend to shut people out/ I like my space, yeah/ But I’d love to have a soul mate/ God will give him to me someday/ And I know it’ll be worth the wait

Dear No One — Tori Kelly

Read this post on the Song Story Series Instagram. Send your stories to contactutiom@gmail.com.

Song Story Series is an exploration of the ways in which music and life cross paths. Documenting experiences, one song at a time.

Curated by Jasmine Gomez

--

--

Jasmine Gomez
UTIOM

Grad Student @NewhouseSU | Contributing writer @Syracusedotcom | Music & Culture Enthusiast | Email me jgomez01@syr.edu. IG: SongStorySeries